Reader reviews and comments on Catherine the Great, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Catherine the Great

Portrait of a Woman

by Robert K. Massie

Catherine the Great by Robert K. Massie X
Catherine the Great by Robert K. Massie
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2011, 656 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2012, 672 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elizabeth Whitmore Funk

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for Catherine the Great
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

John T Alexander

Massie's mess
Robert Massie cannor read Russian! That fact tells me a lot about his latest book!
the man has lost his marbles at 82, but historians of
russia have long known him as a fraud! Jut ask his first wife where he got his info! It's simply amazing to me that people parrot
Rndom House's marketing campaign. oes anybody read the book with any care? If they did, they would find doxens of errors great and smallo. His prose is unremarkable. He's never heard of articles! Nor does he know about the Internet! If he did, he would know that the stories about
catherine's sex life have been all over the Intdrnet for twqo decades!
where has he been?? This is an "expert" on
russia!?? Puleeze!!
The man is simly a fraud!

John T Alexander, Prof. Emeritus, University of Kansas Dept of History


  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.