Reader reviews and comments on When You Reach Me, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

When You Reach Me

by Rebecca Stead

When You Reach Me
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2009, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2010, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Pam Watts

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 9 reader reviews for When You Reach Me
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

LA LA (11/27/11)

Book Report
I have read this book for a book report and I thought it was amazing! :) It was a little bit confusing at first but after I read and re-read the book a couple of times, it definitely became one of my favorites!!
Brooke :D (11/28/10)

Clift Hanging Mystery Book! :D My Favorite! :)
When you reach me by Rebecca Stead is a mystery that I recomend to everyone who loves a great mystery! You would LOVE it because at every chapter it keeps you hanging so you just want to keep reading... it hooks you and you cant put the book down! :D I love this book and it is one of the BEST books I have EVER read! :D
lexi (11/27/10)

THE BEST BOOK EVER
I loved this book. Out of all the books I have read, I would say this is my favorite. I read this book over and over, and it NEVER gets old.
CHEESECAKEboy25 (11/25/10)

This book was great!
"When You Reach Me" is very unique and detailed. It's hard for me, at least, to find books like this anymore. I'm also in the 6th grade. My class luckily read this book in our LAL Honors Class and as far as I know, mostly everyone enjoyed it!
abbalou22 :-) (10/29/10)

The Best Book Ever!
This book is amazing! I hope Rebecca keeps writing more! I love realistic fiction. :-)
Polkadottedbunny (10/14/10)

Amazing!!!
I am in the 6th grade and did a book report on this book, and it took me about 2 hours to read it because I couldn't put it down. This was one of the best books I have ever read!
dinna (03/20/10)

.
This book was awesome :D
Mystery Weekly (03/15/10)

When You Reach Me
When You Reach Me, by Rebecca Stead is a thrilling mystery about a girl whose life changes forever when she receives four mysterious notes. By sixth grade, Miranda and her best friend Sal think they know New York City like the back of their hands. They know where it’s safe to walk, who it’s safe to talk to, and how to approach strangers. Suddenly though, Miranda’s life begins to unravel. One day, Sal is punched in the nose by a new kid for what seems like no reason. Sal begins ignoring Miranda, and after a while, he basically shuts her out of his life. Next, Miranda’s apartment key is stolen. When everything looks lost for Miranda and her mother, she receives a piece of paper with a note scrawled across it-

I am coming to save your friend’s life, and my own.
I must ask two favors. First, you must write me a letter.

   Miranda does not know what to, make of the note at first, so she sets it aside. The notes keep coming though, from the same mysterious source. As she receives more notes, Miranda begins to realize that this person knows all about her, even things that have not happened yet. With each note, she believes more and more that she is the only one who can stop a terrible death. When one last letter arrives though, she begins to think that she’s too late.

   I think that Rebecca Stead’s overall message in When You Reach Me is that you should always trust your friends, and you should never have a doubt in their decisions. I think that When You Reach Me is a superb and thought-provoking mystery that I couldn’t put down. The realistic characters made me realize the wonders of life and the horrors of death.

   I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys science-fiction, mysteries, and realistic fiction. The intricacy and details of When You Reach Me invite you to ponder some of the greatest questions of life. When You Reach Me is a suspenseful, surprising, and action-packed book that all readers will love.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Beyond the Book:
  It's All Relative

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Marriage of Opposites
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's latest work, The Marriage of Opposites, is a historical fiction novel focusing on ...
  • Book Jacket: Miss Jane
    Miss Jane
    by Brad Watson
    National Book Award Finalist Brad Watson returns with an intimate novel about one woman's journey to...
  • Book Jacket: Dinner with Edward
    Dinner with Edward
    by Isabel Vincent
    In late 2009 Isabel Vincent and her family were still newcomers to New York City. She and her ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Imperial Wife
    by Irina Reyn

    A smart, engaging novel that parallels two fascinating worlds and two singular women.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All Is Not Forgotten
    by Wendy Walker

    This is fast-paced psychological suspense/thriller at it's very best.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Fair Fight
by Anna Freeman

A page-turning novel set in the world of 18th century female pugilists.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Summer Stunner
Summer Giveaway

Win 5 books, each week in July!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

W M T N, W C F All

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

BookBrowse Summer Giveaway

We're giving away
5 books every
week in July!