Reader reviews and comments on Olive Kitteridge, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Olive Kitteridge

by Elizabeth Strout

Olive Kitteridge
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2008, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 6 reader reviews for Olive Kitteridge
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Frank F. (06/18/11)

Annoyance
I found the third-to-last and second-to-last stories to be an annoyance (the one about the two young sisters whose mother tried to shoot her daughter's boyfriend and the one about the disturbed young preacher's daughter). These were two very depressing short stories that really had nothing to do with Olive (with just the barest of references to brief comments she had made to characters in these stories as a teacher, years before). I'm wondering, did the publisher tell the author she needed to add another hundred or so pages to the book?
Power Reviewer Dorothy T. (09/22/10)

Pulitzer Prize worthy
(Really a four and a half)
Olive is someone I didn't like, then I did, then I didn't, and at the end she was someone I was able to understand and accept for who she was. I am certain there is a lesson or two for each of us in this well paced and intriguing work.

This is definitely a great choice for a book club.
Power Reviewer JaneN (05/23/10)

Olive
Olive Kitteridge is strong, sassy, thoroughly opinionated and totally lovable. The stories that Elizabeth Strout uses to tell us about Olive are so well written and so detailed that you really get to know the character. Just When you think you know Olive's story, she goes and surprises you. When I re-read this book, I realized that there all parts of Olive in many of my friends. I have lent this book to a few of my girlfriends and we have all agreed that this is one of our favorite books. I totally recommend this book to anyone who likes to about strong women who can make their own way in the world.
Margaret McCrank (05/21/10)

Top Recommendation!
Every year in June, our book club has a get-together to choose our books for the up-coming season. We live an hour's drive away from the closest book store, so all our books must be chosen- which we do by voting - before we all disperse to do our book-shopping over the summer, or on-line of course. My choice for this year will be Olive Kitteridge, which I've just finished reading for the second time, first because there are so many rich topics of discussion in this novel, second because we all live in a small community where everyone is known to everyone else, and lastly, because I recognize myself - and many of my book club friends - in this novel - and not always in a flattering way!

I'm not a big fan of short stories, but the appearance of Olive in each of these thirteen stories makes the connection between them flow so smoothly and logically, it seems like both a novel and a series of short stories at the same time. I first read the book a year ago in one sitting, then this more recent reading took over two weeks, as I read one story every day or so. Both ways of reading were rewarding, but I'd give the edge to the one-story- a- day method.

I look forward to sharing this with my book club!
Duane (01/07/10)

Olive Kitteridge
This book brings to light the plight of facing the results of life choices. Told through thirteen different character's stories, which in their own way speak of small town American. Each have their unique connection to Olive. As she struggles to see herself, and understand the perceptions of those around her, she gives us a glimpse into how alone and yet how connected we all are. I enjoyed the fact that each character's story can be read and stand on its own, and also the fact for better or worse, Olive makes an indelible impression on each. Most of us have no idea how we appear to others, and most of us think others are thinking what we are and for the same reasons. Olive is as fragile as anyone, cloaked by a sizable dose of spunk, a dash of courage and an ability to see through the fluff. Olive leaves us with much to ponder, a sure sign of a good read.
Power Reviewer Lynn (12/17/09)

Wonderful stories
I always read the Pulitzer Prize winners, but rarely seem to enjoy them. This was an exception. I loved this collection of 11 short stories. Depending on the story, Olive Kitteridge was sometimes the main subject, sometimes she was only mentioned in passing, and sometimes she was the secondary character. As each story goes by, you feel a different emotion for Olive, but overall, I really liked her, flaws and all. Each story had an ending where the reader could imagine many different alternate endings. I thought that would put me off, but I found the author made the stories more powerful that way. This would be an excellent choice for a book club wanting a great discussion on a variety of topics in the same book.
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.