Reader reviews and comments on The Gargoyle, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Gargoyle

by Andrew Davidson

The Gargoyle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2008, 480 pages
    Aug 2009, 480 pages

  • Rate this book

Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie

Buy This Book

About this Book


Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for The Gargoyle
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

joe (07/28/10)

loved it
This book was a real good read, one of the best I've ever read. The constant hooks, the reality of being chared in a fire, the stages of hell were all just awesome
Anike (07/20/10)

Creepy good!
I absolutely loved the story! It is dark and strange but draws you in as if you are looking into someone's intimate life and know you should look away but you can't stop staring.

Can't wait to read his next book!
Power Reviewer Elizabeth (06/29/10)

Different, but good
"Everyone's past, I try to rationalize, is nothing more than the collection of memories they choose to remember"...pages 487 and 488...paperback edition.

A porn star burned in a car crash, a wealthy schizophrenic, undying friendships, and beautiful love stories.

The Gargoyle was full of creative ideas, love stories, life lessons, and strange thoughts and happenings, but the title doesn't allow you to even think these things would be inside the book.

The Gargoyle goes back and forth in time and is a story about the treatment of a burn victim and how another patient from the mental health ward visits and eventually takes care of him at her home. There had been a previous connection between them according to the schizophrenic, Marianne Engel, that leads back to the 1300's.

Quite interesting storyline...don't want to tell too much because don't want to give the ingenious story away.

Book was different and strange, but made you think anything is possible. :) It definitely holds your interest after you get through the first 50 pages.

ENJOY!! It was an excellent book
GrannyGrad (03/08/10)

I can't quite understand the one bad review, as this is absolutely one of the best books I've read lately...and I've read plenty of good books. The characters are well-defined, the plot is different from anything I've ever read before, and it is so beautifully written that it is very hard to put down. There are stories within the primary story, as well, rather like Scheherezade. This book will keep you riveted for hours. Well worth the price and the time taken to read it!
Matthew Shadows (01/24/10)

Poor Book
I absolutely do not recommend this book to anyone unless they like to waste their time on reading nothing intriguing.
Jennifer S. Brooks (08/28/08)

Touched by the Inferno
Unfolding like cake batter being poured into a pan, The Gargoyle immediately draws the reader to a man, who should be pitiful, but somehow is not. A man who is repeatedly saved – from an unfulfilling life as a drug-addicted porn star, from a burning car, from the edge of giving up on life…when into his life comes an artist who tells stories of their lives together 700 years ago.

Characters with depth populate this page turner that keeps you guessing even after you finish the last page.

Andrew Davidson, in his inaugural book, shows that he is a master of visualization and emotion.
grace (08/20/08)

WOW! Talk about CONSUMING.....that's what this book consumes you!
There aren't any words.....beautifully written, oh so narrative, the author makes you feel, see, experience everything that he does.

All I can think of as I was reading......if a movie is to be played out.....well I know who I would cast these 2 very special roles to!

This is a MUST read!
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Of Arms and Artists
    Of Arms and Artists
    by Paul Staiti
    In the late eighteenth-century, the United States of America was still an emerging country, ...
  • Book Jacket: So Say the Fallen
    So Say the Fallen
    by Stuart Neville
    Noir crime fiction – Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett anyone? – is an American invention...
  • Book Jacket: The Mothers
    The Mothers
    by Brit Bennett
    Every now and then the publishing industry gushes about a young author destined to become the next ...
Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Bone Tree
by Greg Iles

An epic trilogy of blood and race, family and justice.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    North of Crazy
    by Neltje

    The remarkable life of a woman who carves her own singular path.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Comet Seekers
    by Helen Sedgwick

    A magical, intoxicating debut novel, both intimate and epic.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Cruel Beautiful World
    by Caroline Leavitt

    A fast moving page-turner about the naiveté of youth and the malignity of power.

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win The World of Poldark

Win the book & DVD

Enter to win The World of Poldark and the full first series on DVD.


Word Play

Solve this clue:

One S D N M A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.


Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!

Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.