Reader reviews and comments on The Gargoyle, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Gargoyle

by Andrew Davidson

The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson X
The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2008, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2009, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for The Gargoyle
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kirsty L (11/09/17)

My favourite book
I don't even know how to start with this book.
It is beautifully written and so much effort and research went into its creation. I can read this over and over again and never get bored. It is gripping and you can't put it down
joe (07/28/10)

loved it
This book was a real good read, one of the best I've ever read. The constant hooks, the reality of being chared in a fire, the stages of hell were all just awesome
Anike (07/20/10)

Creepy good!
I absolutely loved the story! It is dark and strange but draws you in as if you are looking into someone's intimate life and know you should look away but you can't stop staring.

Can't wait to read his next book!
Power Reviewer Elizabeth (06/29/10)

Different, but good
"Everyone's past, I try to rationalize, is nothing more than the collection of memories they choose to remember"...pages 487 and 488...paperback edition.

A porn star burned in a car crash, a wealthy schizophrenic, undying friendships, and beautiful love stories.

The Gargoyle was full of creative ideas, love stories, life lessons, and strange thoughts and happenings, but the title doesn't allow you to even think these things would be inside the book.

The Gargoyle goes back and forth in time and is a story about the treatment of a burn victim and how another patient from the mental health ward visits and eventually takes care of him at her home. There had been a previous connection between them according to the schizophrenic, Marianne Engel, that leads back to the 1300's.

Quite interesting storyline...don't want to tell too much because don't want to give the ingenious story away.

Book was different and strange, but made you think anything is possible. :) It definitely holds your interest after you get through the first 50 pages.

ENJOY!! It was an excellent book
GrannyGrad (03/08/10)

Mesmerizing
I can't quite understand the one bad review, as this is absolutely one of the best books I've read lately...and I've read plenty of good books. The characters are well-defined, the plot is different from anything I've ever read before, and it is so beautifully written that it is very hard to put down. There are stories within the primary story, as well, rather like Scheherezade. This book will keep you riveted for hours. Well worth the price and the time taken to read it!
Matthew Shadows (01/24/10)

Poor Book
I absolutely do not recommend this book to anyone unless they like to waste their time on reading nothing intriguing.
Jennifer S. Brooks (08/28/08)

Touched by the Inferno
Unfolding like cake batter being poured into a pan, The Gargoyle immediately draws the reader to a man, who should be pitiful, but somehow is not. A man who is repeatedly saved – from an unfulfilling life as a drug-addicted porn star, from a burning car, from the edge of giving up on life…when into his life comes an artist who tells stories of their lives together 700 years ago.

Characters with depth populate this page turner that keeps you guessing even after you finish the last page.

Andrew Davidson, in his inaugural book, shows that he is a master of visualization and emotion.
grace (08/20/08)

consuming
WOW! Talk about CONSUMING.....that's what this book does.....it consumes you!
There aren't any words.....beautifully written, oh so narrative, the author makes you feel, see, experience everything that he does.

All I can think of as I was reading......if a movie is to be played out.....well I know who I would cast these 2 very special roles to!

This is a MUST read!
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Last Mrs. Parrish
    The Last Mrs. Parrish
    by Liv Constantine
    Amber has lived in poverty all her life, and she has had enough. Of course, wishing to have money ...
  • Book Jacket: Never Coming Back
    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee
    18 out of 23 reviewers gave Alison McGhee's Never Coming Back a rating of 4 or 5, with an average ...
  • Book Jacket: Solar Bones
    Solar Bones
    by Mike McCormack
    Written in a poetic, line-breaking style, Mike McCormack's Solar Bones reads with a breathless ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Second Mrs. Hockaday by Susan Rivers

At once a love story, a history lesson and a beautifully written tale of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Strangers in Budapest
    by Jessica Keener

    Strong characters and a riveting plot combine in this psychological thriller set in Budapest.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

More Anagrams

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E Dog H I D

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.