Reader reviews and comments on The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

A Novel

by David Wroblewski

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2008, 576 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2009, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 39 reader reviews for The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Karen (01/08/13)

Good until the ending disappoints
I was ready to recommend this book to my book club until it ended. All that reading to
be so disappointed in the end. I felt the author just wanted to end it, not caring what
the reader would feel.
FaeryGramma (03/08/12)

Worst Ending Ever
I am not a dog person but I learned so much about dogs and humans. This book was wonderful in language altho "melange" was used too much but what the heck happened to the plot? I could not believe the ending. HUH? [edited to remove plot spoilers]. I heard this as an audiobook. I grew up in Des Moines IA and the descriptions of rural life were gorgeous. But the ending ruined 5 stars from me.
Sara (08/04/10)

A Change in Perspective
Before I read The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, big books really weren't my thing. I picked it up because my Aunt was reading it, and once I did I rarely put it down - not during school, on the bus, or at home. Edgar taught me that just because you feel useless, doesn't mean you are. He taught me that being alone can be better for you than not. He taught me that one's self is not always the most important thing, and that letting go is a good thing - but only after you've taken care of everything that needs to be. I passed the book on, so the copy of my Aunt's has been read by people in Maryland, Mexico, Georgia, and New York. If that's not a good book, what is?
Anita (05/28/10)

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
I thought this was one of the strangest book I have ever read. At first the concept seemed plausible to some extent, but frankly I thought the ending was awful. It made no sense, and left a great deal of information out.

Perhaps there is a sequel in the works, but I doubt I will read anything else this author writes.
Diana Hedum (01/29/10)

Robbed
The book held so much for the reader but in the end I felt robbed. The evolution of Trudy was disturbing and somewhat insulting. She came across as savvy, together, and understanding/sharing of her husband's family dynamic. It didn't make sense for her to be so desperate and void of character after Gar died to latch onto Claude for anything other than help.

The ending felt so forced and didn't flow with the rest of the book. It ruined the book for me. Even the sacrifice of Claude wasn't enough to make up for a book that started off so well and literally imploded. I won't read the author again and felt I wasted 567 pages.
Kim (01/15/10)

Engaging but disappointing
I love a great novel - the longer the better. I had no trouble getting into the story and finishing this almost 600 pg book in less than a week. One has such high hopes for the characters, especially Edgar and his mother. Maybe it's still the optimist in me that expected more in the ending of this novel. Even without the "shiny happy people" ending, you do expect some resolution to unanswered questions. But the author appears to have left his readers and his characters high and dry. Overall, engaging and riveting, despite the let down at the end.
jenna (01/05/10)

disappointed ending
Despite the disappointing ending I couldn't put the book down. I re-read the last few chapters to make sure I was I hadn't missed something. I felt very sad at the end as there was nothing positive after all of Edgar's hard work. I was in love with all of the Dogs especially Almondine. What a special relationship Edgar had with the dogs.Poor Trudy she endured so much. Just wish things had ended differently.
Jane (12/11/09)

A Real Let Down
I loved the book and was completely absorbed by it; just couldn't put it down. I do think it was far too long and should have been edited and pruned. I grew to love Edgar and kept hoping, really expecting, that his travails would lead to some sense of closure. We all know that evil does exist in this world, and even in "Othello" Shakespeare makes sure that Iago is undone. I felt cheated by the ending with no resolution of anything, really. Why was Forte in the book, for example? Then I began to think about it and realized that if we live in a world where God does not exist; the only thing we really have is each other. We all have to do what we can to help the powerless. It that what the author is saying? Or is he simply saying that life just is really awful for some people?

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.