Reader reviews and comments on What I Was, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

What I Was

by Meg Rosoff

What I Was by Meg Rosoff X
What I Was by Meg Rosoff
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2008, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for What I Was
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

marley

a big let down
The reader is built up so much for nothing. The book literally "wraps up" in like 2 or three pages, with vague comments from the older version of the main character. I don't mind books with sad and open ending but gee whiz you got to give me something to work off of. I could relate to the character up until the end where he become vague and not enough detail is given to relate to him anymore....
Stephanie Lennox

Uhm...
Has everyone gone insane? This book is expertly written, I will admit...but hardly as wonderful as everyone makes out. There is so much that is left unexplained, leaving nothing but disappointment in the eyes of any reader. I don't even understand how this novel would relate to anyone in ANY way. I only read it because I'm doing A Level English at the moment and it has many similarities to my FAVOURITE book, "The Raging Quiet" By Sherryl Jordan. Similarities, yes, but a whole new moral message that relates to many people. "What I Was" is the first novel I have read by Meg and it was a letdown. However somehow I still like her and will try again with another novel of hers in the future. Hopefully it will be much, much better- to reach any aspect of my expectations.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.