Reader reviews and comments on Thunderstruck, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Thunderstruck

by Erik Larson

Thunderstruck
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2006, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2007, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for Thunderstruck
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Dorothy T. (04/22/13)

History made fascinating
Eric Larson has a great gift for taking historical facts--well documented--and, by focusing on individual persons, presents his readers with an engrossing tale. I recommend his books to anyone with even a little bit of interest in history.
VW (02/24/07)

Large Efforts of Small Men
Once a young student with little or no appreciation of history, I now read books like Larson's with curiosity and genuine interest. This author weaves together the stories that made headlines at the last turn of the century. One person's actions put him in the Who's Who Timeline of all time (Marconi) and the other whose over-reaction to a bad marriage landed him in prison for life (Crippen). Both men were not the larger-than-life characters who play leading roles in many biographies or non-fiction writing. Rather, they were complex, confused; both were driven by strong emotions, one prodded by his competitors and peers - the other pushed past his limit by a demanding prima donna wife. Neither were able to stand proud, but both became small by their lack of integrity and inability to connect intimately. However, Marconi - listed as an inventor, struggles for years and lands on his feet for all posterity while Crippen ultimately fails after many attempts as a medical practitioner then commits a nearly perfect murder.
A page-turner, Larson's story takes you by the hand through engaging times - a journey nearly as intriguing as his earlier "Devil in the White City."
  • Page
  • 1

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.