Reader reviews and comments on Holes, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Holes

by Louis Sachar

Holes by Louis Sachar
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1998, 233 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2000, 233 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 12 reader reviews for Holes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Gaurish Batra (02/21/17)

Intriguing
Holes is a unique book with a really intriguing storyline which is told by filling in holes and giving small clues about the main character ,Stanley and his ancestors. The author jumps through time and tells stories about the predecessors while not disturbing the ongoing storyline. The story grows on you and you really can't resist completing it in one go.
Power Reviewer Louise J (04/04/12)

Lots of Action!
This was a cute story for kids. Stanley Yelnats is accused of stealing a pair of running shoes donated to a homeless shelter to raise money to fund the program, however, Stanley is truly innocent but the judge doesn’t believe him. He is sentenced to 18 months at Camp Green Lake where he is forced to dig holes under the blazing hot sun every single day including Saturday and Sunday. The holes must be exactly five feet wide and five feet deep.

Each kid at Camp Green Lake is given a camp name and Stanley’s is ‘Caveman’. He hates digging holes and soon winds up looking for his friend ‘Zero’ after he storms out of camp into the barren lands. What they find might surprise you.

All round cute story that was darkly humorous with lots of action and adventure. Your kids will love it!
lou x (06/13/11)

holes-lewis sachar
I thought it is and was a very good book we are reading it in our English lesson and now writing Stanley's diary from the book. We haven't yet finished it but so far it is good. I don't get the part with the pig. I don't know how that is related. It confused me that bit and we had to act it out in class. Overall a very good book!
Cindy (12/31/10)

Holes
This book holes by Louis Sachar is a good book. I thoroughly enjoyed it but I felt that there were some parts that were repeated and its kind of confusing. I would recommend this book from ages 9 and up since it actually helps you understand more. I rated this book a 4 because of some parts. Yes it was a good book but those parts were the ones that the book made me rate it lower. If it didn't have those parts and went slowly, I would have loved it. :)
Mich (12/14/10)

me holes review!!
I think this is a great novel for children in grades 3 to 6.
Karli (09/25/09)

5-Very Good
AWESOME BOOK!!!!! Once I started it I couldn't put it down! It ROCKED!!!!!
Eleanor (03/15/09)

My Recommendation
Holes is one of the best books ever! If you haven't read it, go and do it NOW!!!
Elizabeth mills (02/23/09)

A Classic Story
If you like mystery this is the book for you. If you like adventure this is the book for you. Before I had stated to read this book I personally thought I was not going to like it until I got into it.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Sellout
by Paul Beatty

The first book by an American author to win the prestigious Man Booker Prize.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    No One Is Coming to Save Us
    by Stephanie Powell Watts

    One of Entertainment Weekly, Nylon and Elle's most anticipated books of 2017.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Manderley Forever
    by Tatiana de Rosnay

    Bestselling author Tatiana de Rosnay pays homage to Daphne du Maurier.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Children are not the people of tomorrow, but people today.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Y S M B, I'll S Y

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -