Reader reviews and comments on The Tender Bar, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Tender Bar

by J.R. Moehringer

The Tender Bar
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2005, 370 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2006, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 9 reader reviews for The Tender Bar
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Mark Sheehan (01/27/13)

Manhasset Daze!
JR "nailed it" with this insight into one of the most unique places on the planet. Plandome Road, and Manhasset have long been sacred grounds for the lucky few kids who got to grow up skipping the cracks in the main street concrete.
What JR wrote reflected what so many of us... across many years of growing-up-lucky in that town, stored up and have taken away to tell our children and our children's children... Hats off to JR for a sensitive and wonderful peek in my childhood looking glass...
Sam Cario (02/08/10)

"Measure for Measure" a masterful memoir
JR's characterizations were exceptional, you wanted to meet everyone of his bar persons.I was nostalgic when he wrote of Gilgo...the good old days. But what touched me most was the love he showed for his mother, this was truly the glue of his memoir...he kept you enthralled. THANX JR
Maya Brandon (12/25/08)

A Great Read
Through Moehringer's honest portrayal of Manhasset, it becomes difficult to put the book down. A beautiful telling of the struggles Moehringer overcomes and those who shaped him. By the time you finish reading The Tender Bar, you'll feel nostalgic for a bar you've never entered, a town you've never known, and a journey you've seemingly just begun.
Maya Brandon (12/20/08)

An Excellent Read
Through Moehringer's honest portrayal of Manhasset, it becomes difficult to put the book down. A beautiful telling of the struggles Moehringer overcomes and those who shaped him. By the time you finish reading The Tender Bar, you'll feel nostalgic for a bar you've never entered, a town you've never known, and a journey you've seemingly just begun.
Sarah (01/23/08)

Excellent Book!!!
Absolutely one of the best books I have ever read. I couldn't stop reading and I didn't want the end to come. From the first few sentences I knew this was going to be a great read! A book that should appeal to most anyone. I can't wait to read his next book.
Chris (06/25/07)

Loved This Book - The Best!
On of my favorite memoirs. Not only did you get inside J.R. Moehringer's thoughts, needs/desires, but you got inside the man that grew up. His biggest asset is his sensitivity - which you could pick up on every page - even through all of his struggles. I have probably only read a few books cover to cover in a weekend, but seriously, I couldn't put this down. Funniest story was when he was coming of age. Would highly recommend to all. His mother can be so very proud of him.
Bob Cole (06/11/07)

A delightful ad for hanging out in bars
J.R. Moehringer writes beautifully in capturing the joys of male bonding and making them part of a compelling story that will keep readers enthralled well past their bedtime. If there is such a thing as a "reading hangover" from lack of sleep because you hate to put the book aside, Moehringer is the guy who invented it.

The memoir reads like a novel and it's proof that some of the greatest stories are found in real life. The characters are fascinating and the dialogue will have readers recalling funny conversations and debates from their own lives.

Book Clubs throughout the country will have a ball debating which of its many strengths rank number one.
amy e (10/17/06)

!!!!!!
I could not put this book down. I read it within 24 hours. (No small feat from a slow reader.) My only regret is it is over and I miss that voice of the author. The Mom is the best. Rarely does a Mom get such love and credit. I think it is one of my favorite aspects of the memoir that this women is so remarkable and her son gets it. Bravo. Thank-you. Its a big book.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood
    Bryn Greenwood's debut, All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, is a harsh, raw, and ultimately, truthful...
  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ashes of Fiery Weather
    by Kathleen Donohoe

    "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.