Reader reviews and comments on Cover The Butter, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cover The Butter

by Carrie Kabak

Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak X
Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 17 reader reviews for Cover The Butter
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ekteag (06/28/14)

Not what I was expecting
While I found the story to be amusing and entertaining yet at the same time I felt sad for Katie's disheartening life events, I was expecting a story more along the lines of "Peggy Sue Got Married" or "A Christmas Carol".

I did not connect with what exactly caused her to slip back in time. There was no obvious event or trigger that I was able to interpret as falling back in time and then reappearing to the present, as in Wizard of Oz and so many other destiny-changing stories.

I found it delightful, nonetheless, but would like to know if I missed an obvious "something".
Power Reviewer
Melissa (07/30/07)

Uncovered!!!
Our book club recently read this book:
Cover the Butter is a story about relationships and honesty with not only one's self but each other. Maybe not so much honesty, but confronting the issues and problems at hand instead of sticking one's head in the sand or "covering the butter". The club had mixed reviews, but overall it was an enjoyable read. There was little analyzing over the book itself, but many discussions were sparked regarding mother/daughter relationships, women's roles in the 60's - 70's, honesty between friends (do you tell them when they are making a mistake?). All agreed it was refreshing to see the main character strengthen throughout the book and be true to herself.
Susan Jeffrey (09/07/06)

Not Just
What sets this book apart from much of the "chick lit" genre is that it describes in detail the abuse suffered by a girl at the hands of her mother, and shows how this abuse affected the choices she made as a young woman. I do feel this book would be a good choice for a book group looking for an easy read about a not-so-easy subject. It could lead into a serious discussion of mother-daughter relationships: the messages we got from our mothers and the messages we give our daughters.
Carole, a member of the FRESH Ladies Book Club (08/21/06)

Cover the Butter
This is a novel dealing with a difficult subject - abuse. To make the reader aware of how, when and why this starts, the author uses a diary format to record the events.

The abuse begins as a child while living with an obsessively controlling mother and a weak-willed father.

After some rude awakenings with boyfriends, Kate marries Rodney and finds that he has already planned her life to be a full-time parent, a cook who will prepare his meals so that he can participate in athletic events and a Saturday night sexual partner who will satisfy his fetishes and fantasies. In short, he plans to be a married man who continues to live like a bachelor. Kate, in turn, dotes on her son, becomes a house mouse with all her scrubbing and cleaning and cooking. Her other passion becomes "building a house twig by twig, papering and painting walls, filling rooms with quilts, curtains, covers, wicker baskets, as well as furniture which she sanded, scraped and painted.

Three hundred pages of short sentences, in the form of repetitive conversations and the monotonous activities in Kate's life make the book boring and very depressing.

In the last chapter, we find that Kate has sanded, scraped and painted fifteen chairs (twenty-one more to go), and she is thinking about jams and cakes to make. I asked myself, 'are "we" really on a new route, or is this the same old circle?'

While the title is clever, the book itself is for a very limited audience.
Marie-Jeanne Trauth (08/09/06)

Cover the Butter
Kate's mother always reminded her husband to cover the butter before lighting his post-supper cigarette. Kate--like so many women of her time--took this advice to heart and covered her personality to be the person others expected her to be. I cheered when she finally decided to take charge of her own life and began the process of divorcing her husband.

A great summer read that kept me up until 4:30 a.m. the night I read it.
Donna Nelson (08/07/06)

Cover the Butter
A quick and easy read - good for book clubs just getting started and for those who need a break from heavier reading material. Cover the Butter is believable ... a little predictable ... and touches on many topics that are common among women. How much do we please others at the expense of self? How do we dig out what is buried in order to live our lives?
Penny (08/02/06)

Cover the Butter
This a book about family. But it's the friends of Kate who actually
save her throughout the novel. Author Carrie Kabak tells a story of a dysfunctional family so well that the reader feels a part of the story. By the end of the book I wanted the main character to scream at her "unproductive life" coaches: "You are not allowed to talk to me that way!" The characters are well developed but not many of them are likeable. For me the grandparents from Wales gave me hope that something sooner or later would work for Kate. I think many of the things that happened to Kate may have happened to all of us at one time or another. Just like when I look in a full length mirror I always stand up a little straighter thanks to ongoing motherly comannd of "stand up straight".
Fran Shuster (08/02/06)

Cover the Butter
An enjoyable "summer read". As I read Carrie Kabak's words, it gave me a "peek" into a someone else's lifestyle, a family that is real. It is enjoyable to travel back through a family's "history" and see how they arrive at today.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Wolf Season
    by Helen Benedict
    Rin Drummond's nicknames include "Pit Bull" and "Dragon." She's a tough-as-nails Iraq War ...
  • Book Jacket: La Belle Sauvage
    La Belle Sauvage
    by Philip Pullman
    Voted 2017 Best Young Adult Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect ...
  • Book Jacket: Leonardo da Vinci
    Leonardo da Vinci
    by Walter Isaacson
    The name Leonardo da Vinci is one of the most recognized in all of Western history, and his ...
  • Book Jacket: The Immortalists
    The Immortalists
    by Chloe Benjamin
    On a summer day in 1969 in New York City, the Gold children agree to seek out a mysterious ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig

A story that is at once quirky, charming, heartbreaking, suspenseful and poignant.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Days When Birds Come Back
    by Deborah Reed

    A graceful testament to endurance, rebuilding, and the possibilities of coming home.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Mothers of Sparta

Mothers of Sparta: A Memoir

A dazzling literary memoir with shades of Mary Karr, Anne Lamott and Jenny Lawson.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A J O A Thousand M B W O S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.