Reader reviews and comments on The World Is Flat, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The World Is Flat

A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century

by Thomas Friedman

The World Is Flat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2005, 496 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 640 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The World Is Flat
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Tapsearch Com Editor (08/31/07)

Friedman's Flat World is a mirage and history will confirm this
Thomas Friedman is an evangelist for Free Traders and Globalization. You do not need any conspiracy theories to know this thing called Free Trade is not trade at all and Globlization has been driven by elite groupings outside of any real democratic process.
It is obvious workers have no voice in the process that is leading to a new "ism" of Globalism where raw Capitalism is practiced even in Communist China.

Thomas Friedman also confuses cause and effect in many of his so called flatteners which supposedly were periods in history that paved the way for Globalization. The Y2k crisis is a prime example. The Y2k crisis was caused by Free Trade and Globalization as more than million workers lost their jobs in the computer industry forcing computer to operate on automatic for years with out any decent housekeeping.

Friedman never gets into things like the Lend Lease Act which was actually real Free Trade and the Marshall Plan that restored local value added economies in Europe and Asia.

Friedman leaves out some other very important periods in history and the year 1956 is one of them.

The Suez Canal was closed down signaling how important the control of the Middle East is. Also, in 1956, the U.S. Federal Government itself sponsored the moving of factories outside the USA . It was supposed to be a temporary program but it never ended. It first evolved into the Maquiladora factories using impoverished workers in Mexico and then it evolved into what is called Free Trade today. It was never evolved in a natural economic flow but it was a forced march steered by elite groupings in government, media, colleges, trans national corporations and international entities like the World Bank . ( All should read The Confessions of an Economic Hit Man by John Perkins for some real flatteners of our times.

You can explore the lost worlds in the Flat World of Thomas Friedman at http://tapsearch.com/flatworld and related articles at http://ezinearticles.com/?expert+Ray_Tapajna
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.