Reader reviews and comments on Broken For You, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Broken For You

by Stephanie Kallos

Broken For You
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2004, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2005, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for Broken For You
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

linda (01/10/11)

Heart Warming
Some books you hurry to finish, others you savour. Some are a one-time read, others need to be read over & over. This book will stay with me forever.
Smillw (06/14/09)

Broken for You
This is a wonderful book. I loved the various eccentric and "broken" characters that all have a story and yet the ultimate lesson is love and hope.
Kate (06/05/07)

Passing it on
Broken for you is one of those book you HAVE to pass on to everyone you know. My heart broke and healed during the reading and by the end I was emotionally drained and yet filled with the hope and love this book inspires. The characters were such a lively group and, after reading, the lives and life styles of the main characters when taken in context with the theme of the book were perfect. This was one of those books you can't wait to finish but never want it to end.
Linda Meyer (02/17/05)

"Broken for You" is one of the freshest and most life-affirming novels I've read. Because of its positive messages, I will definitely be recommending it to others as well as rereading it myself. Multiple perspectives provide depth, lovably eccentric characters evoke pathos, historical insights add texture, and compassionate understanding for others make me sad that I've completed the book. I especially love Kallos' belief in an individual's ability to change and her hope for the subsequent results.
C. Ziering (01/29/05)

A copy of Broken for You came my way via one of my favorite librarians. I had never heard of the book or the author. As I began to read, thought, what was Elizabeth thinking of when she sent this book to me? As I continued to read I began to understand why this book had come to me. It is a complex story told in a witty, slyly whimsical style. The characters are amazingly real, diverse, and believable. The pain of these characters is sometimes unbearable but the human spirit that transcends this pain is balm to the soul. Margaret's visit to France where she finds answers to her life long quest delivers the reader am amazing high. I wish I knew these people. I wish I knew Ms. Kallos. This book may be of special interest to readers of the Jewish faith.Text
Marijo Carnino (01/25/05)

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and could not put it down until I finished. Loved her writing style, loved the craziness of the characters.
Excellent read, hope she has more to come....
Butley (10/27/04)

I read this beautiful book word for word when I realized the rich observations and linguistic choices I would miss if I read for plot as I often do. I was richly rewarded. Soulful and funny, wry and exuberant, it is a paen to the human spirit and the ability of the heart to heal and triumph. Once finished, I shocked myself by starting over and reading it again.It was the simply the book in my too large pile of reading that I most wanted to read. I cannot think of a higher recommendation.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

I have always imagined that paradise will be a kind of library

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.