Reader reviews and comments on How I Live Now, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

How I Live Now

by Meg Rosoff

How I Live Now
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2004, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2005, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 7
There are currently 54 reader reviews for How I Live Now
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

VampireSlayerLady (05/24/11)

Well...
I have very mixed feelings about this book. I bought it two years ago in English (that´s not my first language),but I never read it. Then I totally forgot about it and a few weeks ago I found it in one corner of my bookshelf. I read the first page and than the second and the third one and I just couldn't put it down! It was fascinating and I don´t know why,but I really couldn't stop reading. I finished the whole book in one afternoon. I liked the first part very much,but then, when Daisy and Piper were separated from Edmond and the others it got boring for me.I´m a quite romantic girl and I wanted more love.I wanted Daisy and Edmond to be together,to run and suffer together. It could have been soooo amazing...but so I didn't like it that much, and I hated the ending. But like I´ve mentioned earlier,the first part,when they were together was wonderful...Like I said: Mixed feelings...
Sanne (10/24/10)

Mwah
I read the book How I live now for school. I'm from the Netherlands and it's really hard for me to understand the story line. Also there are some questions about in which war the story is about. I think it's in a unnamed war against an unnamed enemy. I hope I make the test about this book good, but I think it's really hard to understand the story. I'll do the best I can, the story is hard but nice though. It's not boring like other schoolbooks and I enjoyed reading it although it was hard for me. =)

(I'm from the Netherland so maybe my English is not so good in this review.)

Greets from the Netherlands, Sanne.
gaelin (09/30/10)

incest cousin loving
Bad writing style.
Really unrealistic.
Bad storyline.
Way overrated.
Natalia (04/29/10)

My impressions
Really, I am not an admirer of contemporary authors. I prefer classic. Having taken this book at the library only for a pleasant look, I was greatly surprised to find out that it was so good! The sense of humour of Mrs.Rosoff is excellent, the plot is colourful and well thought-out.
Of course I am a little bit struck by love affair between cousins...Isn't it an incest? :-)
Nevertheless, good book! I would recommend it to be read.
Probably, we will understand that any war was/is/will be the greatest evil among people?.
savannah (01/26/09)

Intensely Raw
This raw book has intense qualities that are hard to handle emotionally, great for ones who wish for a nail biting, tear starter, and intense love, this book is a bittersweet book that make you want more.
Victoria (01/15/09)

Awesome
This book is an amazing piece of work! I couldn't put the book down. Daisy is a smart and amazing girl. I loved it. I read it about 15 times.
Del (06/19/08)

How i live now..
This book is an amazing book...Meg Rosoff is an amazing author and reading this book made me feel totally engrossed into the story. The characters are amazing and I loved every minute of his book... I would like to say well done to Meg Rosoff and this has become my favorite book and I can't wait to read more of her thrilling books
Del
Annabel (04/21/08)

How I live now
One of the best books i've ever read in my life. Couldn't put it down all week. Made me cry in some parts coz it was so good. brilliant ending.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.