Reader reviews and comments on A Great and Terrible Beauty, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Great and Terrible Beauty

by Libba Bray

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2003, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2005, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 9
There are currently 65 reader reviews for A Great and Terrible Beauty
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

SIVER (11/11/11)

Awesome
I just learned English and this book makes the language sound so much fun.
I feel like I am gemma doyle.
em (07/25/11)

Fantastic series
This trilogy is my absolute favourite. I would recommend it for anyone aged 13 and up. These books are well-written, intriguing, captivating and suspenseful. They will leave you wanting more. Bray meticulously describes both setting and character, as well as dark and mysterious events in the plot that will leave you on the edge of your seat. The novels contain mystery, suspense, humour, forbidden romance, and so much more. Overall, a fantastic series and a must-read.
Angelina (05/23/11)

Ehhh!! :(
I personally did not think this book was all that great as everyone said it was going to be. It was really boring in the beginning and I guess it got better towards the end, but I definitely disagree with all those reviews about this book being FANTASTIC and AMAZING!! I didn't think it was all that good and I am rating it as poor...sorry everyone hate me if you want, but I'm the only one telling the truth here! =(
M (04/20/10)

Opinion
I think that this book series is wonderful and intriguing. I LOVE it!! Even though I have read the entire trilogy and know how the story ends I can always re-read the books.

All of the characters were so enchanting and leaped off the pages. They felt so real and at times my heart broke for them.

But I do have one last thing to say... Can I have Kartik PLEASE!!!!!!!
stasa (06/25/09)

AMAZING!!!!!!
This was was amazing!! I personally am not a big fan of fiction, but I did not want to put this book down. There were many things that I was not expecting! This book is definitely a page turner. And it leaves you wanting more.
Aimee (01/06/09)

Best Book Ever (Excluding Twilight)
I've never read a book so compelling - it drags you in! I could barely stop reading until I had finished, I can't wait to read Rebel Angels and have high expectations. This a 11/10 star book!
Helen (08/13/08)

A Great and Terrible Beauty
A Great and Terrible Beauty has everything I've looked for in a book: fantasy, a bit of mystery, historical fiction, and true to life characters. The girls were around my age, which made it more interesting. It's extremely well written! It opened my eyes to what a girl's life was like in Victorian times. (I think you have to be at least 12 or 13 to understand some of the more complicated sequences in the book, though). I have never read anything like this before, it's intriguing, compelling, has its moments of passion, and some moments of sheer terror! You don't know what to expect when you turn the page. Overall a fascinating and exciting read! I definitely recommend it, especially for teenage girls. Great job Libba Bray!
geekygirl (05/07/08)

Mordern problems in a Victorian time peroid
Although this book might display some older issues it also compels a reader to turn the next page again and again till the very end. It has death, friendship, sacrifice, pain, and dreams. The main character is a hero in her own way . She must choose between her heart and her mind as well as find out the truth about herself. I would suggest this book to both boy's and girls. But I would also say that in order to fully grasp the ideals in this book, You would have to be at least 13.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Summer Before the War
    by Helen Simonson
    Set on the cusp of World War I, The Summer Before the War exudes strength and spirit as a small town...
  • Book Jacket: Lincoln in the Bardo
    Lincoln in the Bardo
    by George Saunders
    George Saunders' Lincoln in the Bardo is a philosophy discourse brilliantly disguised as a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Tender
    by Belinda McKeon
    Most of us have heard the slightly trite saying: "If you love something, set it free." But one can ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Victoria
by Daisy Goodwin

"A hit…The research is impeccable, the attention to detail, perfect." - The Sunday Mirror (UK)

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    I See You
    by Clare Mackintosh

    A dark and compelling thriller about an everyday woman trapped in the confines of her everyday world.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Fifth Petal
    by Brunonia Barry

    Beloved author Brunonia Barry returns to the world of The Lace Reader with this spellbinding new thriller.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Any activity becomes creative when the doer cares about doing it right, or better.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Your F C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.