Reader reviews and comments on The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident  of the Dog in the Night-Time
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2003, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2004, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 6
There are currently 45 reader reviews for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Nils Franco (08/19/11)

Highly Recommended
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime teems with quirky detail and a style of writing so unique you’ll be left with an open mouth in awe of Mark Haddon’s innovative style. I encourage anyone looking for a good read to check out Haddon's mystery novel.
The novel’s writing style stretches limits through its attention to detail and by delving into the questions of life without the typical clouded nonsense, like when an author tries to sound more insightful than he actually is, making these questions impossible to answer. The book’s autistic protagonist, Christopher Boone, does too. It’s got the foundations of a typical coming-of-age story: drastic situation leads to drastic measures. The hero must dive into uncharted territory, forcing himself to overcome his irrational fears to resolve the conflict. The mystery begins when Christopher finds his neighbour’s dog slain in the neighbour’s front yard. Christopher exhibits an uncommon bond with animals; he explains that this is because animals have three straightforward feelings: happy, sad, and okay.
   In the novel, Haddon mulls over the meaning of truth, death, love, hatred, and fear. He poses the questions, “What is truth, and what crosses the line to become a lie?” or, “How does fear dictate our actions? How about love and hate?” The author truly allows us to be free to evaluate these questions that have remained disputed since sentient beings have walked the Earth.
   This work emphasizes the power emotions have in our life, from the small intuitive details to the life-changing decisions, by showing life through a monochromatic or B/W lens. In doing so, we see how effective colour is, and how boring films would be if they lacked this element. The book makes the reader question everything they hold dear to them.

On an unrelated note, this is the first book I have genuinely enjoyed since reading Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder in fourth grade. I found the amount of detail to be compelling and oddly captivating.
me (09/09/10)

hmm
It was very interesting. I liked parts of it but sometimes it got a little slow and I wanted to throw it down. I got mad because Ii could never tell what was going to happen next like I normally can with books. But overall I liked it. Just give it a chance and you'll find it's actually a good book. It has a lot of symbols and words between the lines.
Ashley (08/19/10)

Wonderful
This book has opened my eyes to an entirely different world. it makes you stop and think for a second, wow is that what really goes through the minds of people like this. Wonder, just wonderful. the book will make you smile, cry and it might even make you mad a little. The boy starts off as a sick boy trying to solve a crime in his neighborhood to a wonderful young man trying to put the pieces back together in his life. Christopher is smart, witty and brave.
CMH (08/12/08)

CMH's Thoughts
The book was invigorating. Very fun to read. I recommend it to anyone.
Brandon Diep (06/04/08)

Good Book
This book is one of the books that have everything in you want in one book, it is a comedy, a heartbreaker, and a mystery and very clever having Christopher being the narrator. So if you ever get a chance to read this book because I had a fun time reading this wonderful book.
Brandon Diep (06/01/08)

Fun to read book
This book is one of the books that have everything in you want in one book, it is a comedy, a sad story, and a mystery and very clever having Christopher being the narrator. So if you ever get a chance to read this book because I had a fun time reading this wonderful book.
Brian F (05/18/08)

good book
This book was very interesting and I loved feeling the sense of being in Christopher's shoes. You really get a piece of what it would feel like to have autism due to the authors great job of writing as if he had it. Its truly a unique book and its a good read for many levels of of readers. : )
Darcie K (03/20/08)

Fascinating
This story is told from a fascinating perspective. It reflects on many adult situations in a wry sense of humor. Sometimes Christopher sees more clearly than those of us without "special needs". This is a sad and humorous story that I highly recommend.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ashes of Fiery Weather
    by Kathleen Donohoe

    "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.