Reader reviews and comments on For Matrimonial Purposes, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

For Matrimonial Purposes

by Kavita Daswani

For Matrimonial Purposes by Kavita Daswani
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2003, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2004, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 16 reader reviews for For Matrimonial Purposes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (01/15/05)

Funny, witty book.. all Indian girls, esp living in America can relate to all the episodes the character has to go through.. well written, and real!
christine (01/14/05)

Kavita Daswani does a great job throughout this amazing tale. Being Asian, I can find myself relating to similar situations that Anju experiences. Anju is such an amazing character and ought to be admired! She's smart, funny, lovely, loving, and loyal! For Matrimonial Puroposes is the kind of book that will make you want to read until you're finished. Daswani's characters are very realistic, you'll definitely find yourself laughing out loud. Recommend this book to friends. Not only will they come to love Anju, but be exposed to a differnt cultural perspective!!!
anjali (01/03/05)

Hi, I am 18 going on 19 this month!!!
The Book felt like scenes from my own life - teen life, and what to expect as i go on my 20's. Its what every Indian girl goes through. or will go through at some point in life. It prepares you for martimony.
angelin (11/07/04)

an amazing book! i'm a 17 year old student who chose this book for my english cpt, and i loved it! you wanna know more about indian culture and marriage? read this book! its full of humour and truth. kavita daswani explores the intimate details of a female's mind about marriage. bend it like beckham is nothing compared to this! i recommend this book for both girls and guys of all ages...you'll love it. so pick it up sometime, its a lot different than other books you may have read.
Mandy (09/22/04)

Hi i'm a 17 year old 'A'level student and i have decided to study this book for my English coursework. Im not into reading but i really enjoyed this one because i can really relate to what Kavita Daswani writes about. Im not of the Asian culture but my mum and dad are giving me stick about boys and whether i have a boyfriend or not. I would really reccomend this book as it focuses deeper into what mothers really think about, marrying off their daughters.
sabina ahmed (09/18/04)

Okay, i just finished this book, and i thought it was great, excellent, right on, i think kavita captured beautifully what many single women in the sub-contintent have to go through. and for those who are not from the sub-continent area, yes this is really how people think from that part of the world. i believe it should be read by every single and not single woman who is from there, as it is the only piece of literture that truly captures what so many of us have to go through. i am not from india but Pakistan i truly felt it captured what young single women face in this part of the world
i am definately going to reccomend it to everyone i can get my hands on!

avid readier

Sarah (09/09/04)

I just read the paperback. I hurt my tummy laughing. I actually teared a few times too!
Deepa (07/16/04)

When I first saw the book cover from far, i thought it was a book with a list of prospective brides and grooms :)
I could totally relate to the book, being an Indian who came to U.S. for further studies. Kavita's writing was so
catchy, i stopped doing research to finish reading the book. I really admired the way she start's using her
fashion knowledge in describing anything and everything as soon as she lands the job, while keeping the
normal innocent way of writing when Anju is in India and is not exposed to the American lifestyle. A great book.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Dark Flood Rises
    The Dark Flood Rises
    by Margaret Drabble
    Margaret Drabble, the award-winning novelist and literary critic who is approaching eighty and ...
  • Book Jacket: All Our Wrong Todays
    All Our Wrong Todays
    by Elan Mastai
    You need a great deal of time to read All Our Wrong Todays, but don't let that put you off. ...
  • Book Jacket: Dadland
    Dadland
    by Keggie Carew
    In her notable debut, Keggie Carew examines the life of her father Tom, a decorated war hero whose ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Lola
    by Melissa Scrivner Love

    An astonishing debut crime thriller about an unforgettable woman.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Our Short History
    by Lauren Grodstein

    Lauren Grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it's stronger, than before.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

At times, our own light goes out, and is rekindled by a spark from another person.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -