Reader reviews and comments on Derailed, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Derailed

by James Siegel

Derailed by James Siegel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2003, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2004, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Derailed
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Pam (04/04/11)

Very exciting book
I was gripped by the plot from the very beginning. It was one of those books that it was difficult to put down.
E (08/20/06)

OUTSTANDING BOOK!
I read the entire book in one night...simply an outstanding novel that kept my attention until the last page.
Tawnie (07/13/06)

Derailed
I made the mistake of watching the movie before reading the book. THe movie was good (my favorite movie actually) But the book was so much better! I had many sleepless nights just reading this book...I couldnt put it down. I highly recommened this book!!
AJ (05/30/06)

What I think... (so far)
I am more than half way though the book, and I find it to be pretty intense and entertaining. Although, I do agree that there are many racial slurs in the novel. This can't help but make me wonder if James Seigel is prejudice himself. Honestly, if you don't like any bit of racism, then don't read the book. As for me, I am a biracial high school student, and it doesn't bother me to the point where I need to put the book down.
Jill (07/10/05)

Derailed
First book I have read by this author. A real page turner.
Tamika D. (02/16/05)

I'm a 22 year old African American female that lives in San Diego, CA. A friend at work told me about this book and said that it was so intense that he couldn't finish the book, he explained the plot and I said that I'll read it. I read through the first few chapters and was immediately discusted because this book is full of racial comments towards (mainly) African Americans and Hispanics. I stopped reading it because I was upset and I tried to get through the book thinking it was my imagination. I read through another chapter and again, there was his racism. I told a friend that I would put money on the fact that he made the mugger something other than "Caucasian" so I jump to that chapter and of course there was more racism. I don't like the book because it is subcontiously telling people to pretty much watch their back from us "sloe eyed Black" people. The sentence was actually "Sloe Eyed black Man" in the book. I personally think this display of racism should be taken off the shelfs in bookstores!
Joe Ayers (11/20/04)

I read approximately 50 novels each year and this one had so many plot twists that I couldn't put it down. Definitely the book of the year.
Suzi (03/09/03)

I want this book! I simply read the excerpt and that was enough! Talk about gripping!
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Happiness makes up in height for what it lacks in length.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.