Reader reviews and comments on The House of The Scorpion, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The House of The Scorpion

by Nancy Farmer

The House of The Scorpion
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2002, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2002, 308 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 18
There are currently 144 reader reviews for The House of The Scorpion
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jordan (7th Grade) (05/27/15)

Best book
I love this book and I really wish that it would have had a longer series. I've also read the Lord of Opium. 5/5 for both books.
legenddarkrai (02/14/12)

AWESOME!
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!!! It gave lots of exciting things and I like how there were different sections. I think the ending is really cool, yet sad. But overall, I LOVED IT!!
Lia (12/04/11)

House of the Scorpion
This book was amazing!!! I had to read it for a book club and didn't think it was convincing by the back of the book. I fell head over heals for this book and couldn't put it down. I highly recommend this book if you like the following genres:
Adventure
Suspense
Science fiction
Realistic fiction
(I am not a big fan of sic fi and I LOVED this book)
7th Grader (01/23/11)

Interesting in a unique way
I loved this book. I read it in a week because I was so addicted to it. I loved how the parts were put according to his age. I know it sounds dumb but it was kinda cool to see how everything changed as the years went by, and how Matt slowly learned about who he was and what that meant. I put this as a 4 because though the main meat of the book was great, the ending was sloppy. It felt rushed and the whole thing after the salt mines just didn't seem necessary or done right. The ending was also rushed, and had a bit of (just my opinion) unneeded events happen. This isn't the first book I've read that had a great storyline, but a car crashing into a wall ending. I just wish that this author would of spent more time on the ending. Still a great read, and worth it even with the lame ending.
Blake (05/12/10)

Awesome
My biology teacher assigned my grade a project, make a model and present it to her, or read a book. We had an option of three books. I chose this one. I'm sure glad I did! I loved it! Everyone is saying its long... its not that long, only 380 pages. Although I would say the author could have ended it a lot earlier than she did. I was thinking halfway through the book that it could almost be done, what else does she have left to say? but all in all its a great book! READ it!
ncmnt2 (02/14/10)

8th grades Only!
I am amazed that so many feel that this is appropriate literature for 10-12 year olds. This novel is very dark and offers little by way of the positive for young readers. The content describes several forms of government and contains some very intense moralistic issues that should be considered with ages more appropriate for 13. Very interesting plot and wonderful for more mature audiences who will appreciate the parallels and life lessons.
JK (01/30/10)

JK's review
This is like a great book! I usually read classics , but this a one of a kind book! I would recomend it to anyone ages 11 and up.
Laurel Booher (11/30/09)

Worth Reading!
I really enjoyed reading this book, because it s t r e t c h e d my mind. I also liked reading Lois Lowery's The Giver...the genre and ideas were complementary. I'd love to discuss with someone who's read both of these sci-fi classics!
I feel like I understand God's plan for us better after reading these books. Earthly Man was not meant to live forever. I want to own this book!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Information is the currency of democracy

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.