Reader reviews and comments on The Dive From Clausen's Pier, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dive From Clausen's Pier

by Ann Packer

The Dive From Clausen's Pier by Ann Packer X
The Dive From Clausen's Pier by Ann Packer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2002, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2003, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for The Dive From Clausen's Pier
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Lindsay (01/14/05)

This was a great novel and I am so happy it found its way into my life. I recommend it for all people in need of a good book.
Lorrie (10/20/04)

I enjoyed the book; however it was not great literature. I felt Carrie did mature during the course of the book although everyone wanted something from her, and she had very little to give after the accident. Kilroy was a character who needed more explanation. He was very needy emotionally just as Mike was needy physically. The ending of the book needed clarification, or is the author going to write a sequel?
Stefanie (03/07/04)

I am a high school student and I read this book in preparation for a book report I have to do. It was a great book and I would recommend it to people of all ages. Many people who have reviewed this book online said they don't like it, but I disagree. I really enjoyed reading it and I encourage everyone to do the same.
Julie (07/08/03)

I was disappointed. I expected a more mature novel (sex doesn't make it mature, either). It reads like a trumped-up teen pot-boiler. I'll forget having read this in a few days. Also, as a Wisconsinite, I'm disappointed. The author seems to know nothing about the state and it's culture and people (especially Madison) except the geography she looked up in an atlas.
Louseey (06/09/03)

We unanimously voted on this book for our book club pick--from reviews and the subject matter--thought it would be thought provoking and a great read. However, no one in our group liked this book--some couldn't even get through it. We found none of the characters likeable. Unfotunate because it is a great premise.
Brownstone (06/06/03)

I read this book, not knowing what to expect. I didn't read any of the reviews online until after I finished it. It seems that most people do not like this book.

I have read complaints that the Carrie's character didn't change, didn't develop throughout the book. On the contrary, I saw/felt changes within her. The book is broken into three parts. The middle part is the change. The first and third parts she remained stagnant. I, personally thought that was good - it was showing she was settling back, going back to her old life, her roots.

I loved this book.

I grew up near Madison. The author didn't use typical Midwestern stereotypes to build the characters (well, not completely anyway).

It was, indeed, thought provoking. Having to make a decision like that at such a young age, so many would have done the same thing she did. And I think the ending was plausible. It wasn't far-fetched, it wasn't a fairy tale.
Anonymous (12/27/02)

I was disappointed because Carrie seemed a static character throughout the book. As a matter of fact, I never saw much growth in any of the characters. There were opportunities for growth within Carrie's character, but it seemed to me that she took a passive way out of each dilemma. Carrie never seemed to learn from her relationships with Mike, Kilroy, Jamie and her mother, who could have provided some insight and reflection with her feelings remained very much a background character.

Dive from Clausen's Pier had the potential to be a great story, but I was left with the feeling that Carrie was at heart selfish and hadn't grown beyond selfishness--not just because of her relationship with Mike, but with all her relationships as she took from everyone, but seemed to feel no real obligation to give.
jan mayrick (07/09/02)

A superbly written and beautifully crafted novel about love, loyalty, and the difficult choices one has to make in order to be true to oneself.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Little Fires Everywhere
    Little Fires Everywhere
    by Celeste Ng
    Voted 2017 Best Fiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    Small towns, big drama. Acclaimed author ...
  • Book Jacket: La Belle Sauvage
    La Belle Sauvage
    by Philip Pullman
    Voted 2017 Best Young Adult Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect ...
  • Book Jacket: Killers of the Flower Moon
    Killers of the Flower Moon
    by David Grann
    Voted 2017 Best Nonfiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    The long, sorrowful list of injustices done ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dry
    The Dry
    by Jane Harper
    Voted 2017 Best Debut Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    After receiving a letter from his childhood...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

"Electrifying . . . as beautiful and as icy as the Minnesota woods where it's set."
—NPR

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Story of Arthur Truluv
    by Elizabeth Berg

    An emotionally powerful novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Autumn

Autumn by Ali Smith

One of the New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year, and a Man Booker Prize Finalist

Enter

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay: $400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.