Read what people think about The Jericho Deception by Jeffrey Small, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Jericho Deception

by Jeffrey Small

The Jericho Deception by Jeffrey Small X
The Jericho Deception by Jeffrey Small
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2013
    396 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 22 reader reviews for The Jericho Deception
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Colleen T. (Lakewood, CO) (04/09/13)

The Jericho Deception
I found this book to be tedious and somewhat predictable. The story line was interesting and the characters were ok, but I kept getting irritated at the numerous times the author felt the need to describe in detail how this or that was going to happen – boring! I also didn't like how I felt like I was watching a movie as I read. There were way too many "scene" changes for my liking. Or, if you like, the flow of the story was broken up a lot by switching from one location to another. I'm no writer, but this story needs editing.
Hilary H. (Tucson, AZ) (04/06/13)

The Jericho Deception
I hadn't read anything by Jeffrey Small and I was a bit leery of anything too religiously based but I did enjoy the thriller aspects of this book. I did have to go back and forth after the first few chapters to make sure I knew who was who and where I was. The book does remind me of Dan Brown's books. It had some clever ideas such as the "monastery" in the desert. It was good entertainment.
Nancy H. (Foster City, CA) (04/03/13)

Chilling
I'm writing this very shortly after hearing of President Obama's wonderful brain mapping initiative and I must admit, having read this book made me immediately wonder if/how mapping the brain could be co-opted for ill. I found this book to be a thought-provoking read on many levels with interesting characters you could care about, and villains well drawn enough to push the story forward at an exciting pace. I also found it interesting that the situation was viewed from such different perspectives. I enjoyed this more than enough to go investigate Jeffrey Small's previous book.
Jan C. (San Antonio, TX) (03/31/13)

Jericho tumbling down
It was average read. Not a lot of twists and turns. Characters seemed flat without any deep development. The story jumped around. Antics of amateurs seemed unbelievable. The plot did not seem completely plausible.
I would not recommend this book.
John P. (Boca Raton, FL) (03/28/13)

A battle of religion, culture and the mind
A very fast paced race between Islamic culture, the theory that religious belief can be modified and the salvation of our universe depends on that change will keep you turning pages.
Logos, from the Greek culture is the instrument of change and the battle of wits between several groups including the CIA will keep you moving from their headquarters, a monastery in the middle of the dessert and Yale University.
Nancy C. (Newton, KS) (03/27/13)

The Jericho Deception
Jeffrey Small introduces us to the world of academic research and the competition for funding as technology occupies a larger and larger role in our lives. Mind control, terrorists and the desire to succeed at whatever the cost collide in the early pages. As Dr. Ethan Lightman approaches a breakthrough in his research, his world is disrupted by forces competing for his design. The pace is fast and rarely breaks down. With a suitable cast of villains and good guys; Jeffery Small gives us his first novel in great style. If you are intrigued by technology and cutting age research as well as suspense and action, then you will enjoy this book.
Paula W. (Sarasota, FL) (03/27/13)

"Logos" - in the beginning was the Word....
Although I began "The Jericho Deception" with some misgivings, the first few chapters drew me in so deeply --- I just couldn't put it down. Recipe --- put in some terrorists, an explosion, a quest to be able to "give " people an experience with God -- "up close and personal", thugs on steroids, an top-secret underground facility, a righteous Muslim, an old, beloved Jewish mentor, a "sorta" agnositic hero --- then add an "unsolvable" code, a cute and brainy assistant and MONKEYS (!!!) - who could possibly resist this unusual and intriguing scientific, philosophical mystery. Not me!!!!
Sally G. (Saint Johns, FL) (03/27/13)

Jericho Deception
I had to give it a four as it was way too wordy. Description is needed but it was overkill.

The story was really good and deserves a 5 as was in a small way like the TV show, Person of Interest. The timing was off , just when you got into the story it would shift you to another completely different scene.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.