Read what people think about Losing Clementine by Ashley Ream, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Losing Clementine

A Novel

by Ashley Ream

Losing Clementine
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2012
    320 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 24 reader reviews for Losing Clementine
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Wendy E. (Mechanicsville, VA) (02/28/12)

Dark and light!
The premise is certainly dark. We know Clementine is counting down the days before she kills herself. Yet some of her antics in the days leading up to her "due date" are quite funny/light. We can certainly see the darkness that fills her life, but there are such wonderful elements to her days as well, elements we hope she will realize are really quite wonderful. You'll find yourself hoping Clementine will reevaluate her decisions. This was a great read!
Mary M. (Lexington, KY) (02/20/12)

Dreary Book
I really did not like this book. It was depressing and the main character was unlikable. I kept reading because I thought at some point Clementine would do something to help me understand or like her. Even after learning her history I could not understand why she behaved so badly to her family and friends. She was an unsympathetic character from beginning to end. I would not recommend this book to anyone. It was just to dreary.
Power Reviewer Gary R. (bolingbrook, IL) (02/19/12)

Another good read!
Who would of thought that a book about someone who wants to end it all would be so much fun to read! Clementine wants to end it all in 30 days,but wants to tie up a few loose ends before she goes. Funny, witty, an all around enjoyable read! Highly recommended!
Marta M. (Santa Ana, CA) (02/19/12)

a good read
Everyone will not understand this book, Losing Clementine. It is a story for our time era. Mental illness has soared in the last few decades and we are all trying to find the silver bullet to help these people. At one time in this story, Clementine described her illness like a black monster, not allowing her to breathe. I have heard many times of the dark monster descending upon a person and sometimes never letting them go,encouraging them to want release. This book describes this very well and makes the character sympathetic. I kept rooting for Clementine all through out the story. I strongly recommend this book and hope to read more from Ashley Ream.
Carrie W. (Arcanum, OH) (02/17/12)

Loosing Clementine
I enjoyed this book, very much. Clementine, has much to deal with, her life is much like many of us, confused, painful, often lonely. We find comfort in the most unlikely places as did Clementine. I'm looking froward to more books from this author.
Brenda S. (Grand Rapids, MN) (02/15/12)

Prepare for Some Morbid Fun
Ashley Ream is now my new BFF. What a fantastic read she created with "Losing Clementine". This book is the most fun you can have while turning pages...a truly laugh-out-loud story of a macabre subject. Everyone has had challenges in life, this book may help you organize said life for the resolution you want...and have a good time doing it. Kudos to Ashley for the most entertaining book I've read in months.
Viqui G. (State College, PA) (02/15/12)

Losing Clementine
Clementine is a talented artist, a bright woman and a very troubled one as well. She tells us in the first chapter that she has made a plan to end her life. As those of us in the medical profession know, when a person has a suicide plan, they are to be taken seriously. And Clementine is serious. But the beauty of this book is that it is not sad or depressing. In fact, it is often hilarious. Clementine is a lively, fascinating and very unconventional character. The reader learns to like her, even with all her eccentricities.

The book is written in the first person, so we "hear" Clementine speak and "listen" to her justifications for her past and present actions. This gives great intimacy to this novel; I felt like I could sit down in Clementine's studio and chat with her. I didn't always agree with her, but I could understand where she was coming from. This book would appeal to women; there is some vulgar language, so that may be off-putting to some.

All in all, "Losing Clementine" was a believable novel and it brought to life a character and a story that I will remember affectionately for a long time.
Judith M. (San Diego, CA) (02/14/12)

Wickedly funny black humor!
I was ready to give up on this book almost from the beginning. But the wickedly funny black humor hooked me and I had to read on. Surprisingly through the humor I was better able to understand what it might be like to live with mental illness and the drugs to treat it. Unfortunately I was left with little hope that her life will improve. Maybe she will be able to endure the dark times and accept the joy that is in her life. I sincerely hope so.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.