Read what people think about A Bitter Truth by Charles Todd, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

A Bitter Truth

A Bess Crawford Mystery

by Charles Todd

A Bitter Truth
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Aug 2011
    352 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 31 reader reviews for A Bitter Truth
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Carmen S. (Elkins, Arkansas) (09/08/11)

Good historical fiction
A historical mystery set during World War 1. Really enjoyed the book, fell in love with an Australian chap, hope the author uses him again. A good clean read but not boring. Will read more books from the author.
Margo Z. (Monroe, MI) (09/07/11)

Great Characters and Good Mystery
This is the third novel in the Bess Crawford series, preceded by A Duty to the Dead, and An Impartial Witness. The main character Bess is kind, caring, and sensible as she carries out her duties as a nursing sister during World War I. All of the characters are well drawn, and the author gives an excellent picture of that time in history. Bess gets better and better in each novel. She is the kind of person you would want as a best friend, and the mystery is intriguing and solved by intelligence and determination.
Karen L. (Antelope, CA) (09/05/11)

Bess Crawford- one lucky, plucky protaganist
There are many things to commend about "A Bitter Truth." The authors have a wonderful ability to create multi-dimensional characters and to evoke the sense of what it must have been like during World War I. And the plot twist at the end kept me guessing whodunnit until the big reveal. But I feel the Bess Crawford character suffers in comparison to Todd's other protagonist, Ian Rutledge. Lacking the Inspector's internal demon, Crawford just comes across as a busybody, and a busybody that happens to be in the right place at the right time, at that. She may be a plucky heroine, but the plot relied upon too many external characters and coincidences to keep my interest piqued throughout the novel.
Michele K. (Phenix City, Al)Mildred Terry Lib., Ga (08/31/11)

A Bitter Truth
I enjoyed the third installment of the Bess Crawford series by Charles Todd. A complicated plot, although a bit far fetched. It gives one a look into the life of a nurse during WW1. I am looking forward to see what happens with Bess next.
Nancy E. (Sturgeon Bay, wi) (08/30/11)

A Bitter Truth
It was with great anticipation that I approached this book. I had read the preceding two books in the series and have to say that I enjoyed them and their plucky heroine Bess Crawford. While the plot was good, the characters were not as well drawn as in the previous two books. The setting, however, was well done. I would read more in this series, but would not recommend this particular title to mystery fans.
Wendy R. (Riverside, CA) (08/25/11)

Excellent Historical Crime Fiction Novel
New to the series, I was a little concerned at jumping into Charles Todd's Bess Crawford series without having read the previous books. However, my fears were unwarranted. Like with many crime fiction series books, this one stands well on its own. Bess Crawford is a heroine after my own heart. She is intelligent and strong. Set during World War I, the authors (a mother/son team) capture the mood of the times quite well, including the hardship and suffering. In the novel, Bess is unwittingly drawn into the troubles of the Ellis family, and it falls on her to investigate when she becomes the prime suspect in a murder. I thoroughly enjoyed A Bitter Truth and look forward to reading more by these authors.
Kristen H. (Lowell, MA) (08/24/11)

Not usually my cup of tea
I am a true lover of mysteries and not a lover of history but Charles Todd has managed to make me forget that there is historical background in this mystery by using a great main character of Bess Crawford whose loving and nurturing character just makes you want to see how things turn out when she gets involved in messes around her. I am going to go find the books preceding this in the series and read them too.
Charla W. (biloxi, mS) (08/23/11)

A Bitter Truth
This is a wonderful mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end. I had no idea who the bad guy was until the end, which is the way a good mystery should be. Although, this was the first Bess Crawford Mystery I have read, I will be on the look out for these books in the future. This book had believable, interesting characters that you could not help loving. This is a stand alone book and you don't have to read the other books to know what is going on.

Bess Crawford is a murder suspect during World War I. While she is trying to find the real murderer, World War I is raging onward. Anyone that loves a good mystery and loves World War I history would love this book.

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Romanovs
    The Romanovs
    by Simon Sebag Montefiore
    The Romanovs chronicles the reigns of the 20 individuals who were considered members of that dynasty...
  • Book Jacket: Barkskins
    Barkskins
    by Annie Proulx
    Barkskins, by Annie Proulx, is not a book to read quickly. After a month of slow reading, I ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Marriage of Opposites
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's latest work, The Marriage of Opposites, is a historical fiction novel focusing on ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Miss Jane
    by Brad Watson

    "Starred Review. Sensitive, beautifully precise prose. Highly recommended." - PW

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Secret Language of Stones
    by M. J. Rose

    "A fantastic historical tale of war, love, loss and intrigue."
    – Melanie Benjamin

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Girl Waits with Gun
by Amy Stewart

An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true adventures of one of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Summer Stunner
Summer Giveaway

Win 5 books, each week in July!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

W M T N, W C F All

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

BookBrowse Summer Giveaway

We're giving away
5 books every
week in July!