Read what people think about Low Town by Daniel Polansky, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Low Town

A Novel

by Daniel Polansky

Low Town by Daniel Polansky

Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for Low Town
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Linda W. (Riverview, Florida) (07/02/11)

A great read! Daniel Polansky I am a fan!
Daniel Polansky has created a dark, gritty place filled with demons, magic, murder and treachery. He also creates characters; some menacing some complicated; all interesting and multilayerd. You care about the central characters and want them to rise above it all. I hope this will be the first of many novels to come from Mr Polansky. I am a fan.
Lenora C. (Altoona, FL) (06/28/11)

Low Town
Good descriptions. Interesting plot. I was there in Low Town. But I just didn't enjoy my visit. Perhaps Mr. Polansky's next effort will be more worth the visit.
WDH ( FL) (06/28/11)

Descriptive / Characters Need More Development
First thought - Interesting concept that lacked overall cohesiveness. The locations and people were described very well. However, there is an underlying storyline that is alluded to but left unexplored, leaving a lot of 'why' questions and the feeling that the storyline / characters could have been more fully developed to really draw the reader in. Also thought it was a bit slow to get started although it picked up towards the middle.
Kim E. (Warrenton, va) (06/20/11)

Left me with too many questions
The mystery was solid, the atmosphere was very detailed and vibrant. However, I kept waiting for the author to explain the details and the back story. How did the protagonist end up a drug dealer? The story is alluded to, but never explained. I left the story feeling unfulfilled and wondering if I had missed the explanations or if I was just supposed to accept Lowtown as presented. I wanted to like the former cop turned drug dealer, but I seemed to crave some explanation as to why he ended up running LowTown? All in all, it was interesting but I can't say I would strongly recommend this book.
Vicky S. (Torrance, CA) (06/15/11)

Great Descriptions
The author does a great job of describing the environment and I could feel that I was there while reading the story. I liked the mixture of fantasy, adventure, relationships and mystery though the writing felt a bit affected at times.
Maggie R. (Canoga Park, CA) (06/14/11)

Low Town
Elements that are interesting combine with others that are not so well developed. The result is a promising first novel by an author whose imagination should produce more consistent works over time.
Steve B. (Spring, TX) (06/10/11)

Low Rating for Low Town
I am definitely not an expert capable of evaluating literature of this genre. I am able to decide that this novel does not appeal to me. I had a hard time following the story line, probably a result of my lack of enthusiasm for a story that has a drug dealer as its hero and is set in a time and place with which I cannot relate.

I know this is David Polansky’s first novel and I wish I could enthusiastically praise his effort but I cannot.
William Y. (Lynchburg, VA) (06/09/11)

Review: Low Town -- Daniel Polansky
Tales about apocalyptic futures, parallel universes, and alternative histories, have gained considerable popularity over the last several years. Some come across as imaginative and well-written, others appeal to adolescent fantasies, and still others clutter up book racks. Unfortunately, Low Town leans strongly to the last category. A loner named Warden lives in this dark, dreary place, a setting straight out of the pulp fiction of the 1920s and 1930s, except that it bears only superficial resemblances to anything recognizable.
A rambling, shambling plot that quickly grows tiresome, along with awkward constructions, neologisms, and transitions that will try even a patient reader, reveal a lack of consistency and craft in Polansky's writing.
Given the usual high quality of Brookbrowse selections, this title served as a letdown. Since Low Town is presented as a debut novel, perhaps Polansky will redeem himself in future efforts.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    All Tomorrow's Parties
    by Rob Spillman
    In this absorbing memoir, co-founder of Tin House magazine, Rob Spillman, recalls his artistic ...
  • Book Jacket: Strangers in Their Own Land
    Strangers in Their Own Land
    by Arlie Russell Hochschild
    Arlie Russell Hochschild's dive into the heart of Tea Party America is as good a glimpse of ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dry
    The Dry
    by Jane Harper
    After receiving a letter from his childhood friend's father, Aaron Falk, a Melbourne police officer ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Sellout
by Paul Beatty

The first book by an American author to win the prestigious Man Booker Prize.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Fifth Petal
    by Brunonia Barry

    Beloved author Brunonia Barry returns to the world of The Lace Reader with this spellbinding new thriller.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Caught in the Revolution
    by Helen Rappaport

    A masterful retelling of the Russian Revolution from the author of The Romanov Sisters.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

At times, our own light goes out, and is rekindled by a spark from another person.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Your F C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.