Read what people think about Heat Wave by Nancy Thayer, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Heat Wave

A Novel

by Nancy Thayer

Heat Wave by Nancy Thayer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2011
    320 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 25 reader reviews for Heat Wave
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Louise J (01/16/13)

Beautiful Novel!!
I absolutely loved this story!

Nancy Thayer has written a real story about real women. She has an uncanny knack for taking real life situations and putting them in story mode. This novel is completely believable and I actually know someone who several of these issues happened too. I love her books and always highly recommend them. Well done, once again, Nancy!!
Sandra S. (Huntington Woods, Michigan) (05/27/11)

Independence
Never knowing what life has in store for you, Carly falls in love and marries a wealthy lawyer she hardly knows. Within a few years of their marriage he has a mortal accident and she is left to raise her two children in the house he left her. She is left with decisions only she can make. I enjoyed this book, because it takes place on the east coast on Nantucket Sound where people populate the area in the summertime. Our family spends the summer in Northern Michigan, in a small town called Charlevoix. Recently, I had a decision, not unlike Carly's, to make. Consequently, the books main theme was very interesting to me. However, because, Nancy Thayer adds so many interesting characters, actions, and a little mystery, I think
"Heat Wave" would appeal to most people, but especially women.
Barbara J. (West Valley City, UT) (05/23/11)

Heat Wave
Heat Wave was a good beach read. no surprises. However, there were some disconnect.
Carm D. (Omaha, NE) (05/20/11)

Heat Wave by Nancy Thayer
This book is perfect for summer reading. It is fast paced, keeps you interested and the characters are likable. It's about loss and friendships who last through thick and thin. It's about trying to do the right thing for yourself and your family in trying times, and respecting the feelings of others in the process. The heroine is an admirable lady and I liked her immensely.
Carolyn S. (Decatur, GA) (05/17/11)

Heat Wave
I found Heat Wave to be a light, airy, and very enjoyable book for personal summer reading. It has a fun, romantic and predictable plot line as well as a more serious unpredictable one.
Kimberly D. (Mount Airy, MD) (05/17/11)

Good Beach Read
Heat Wave is an enjoyable book that deals with love, loss, and moving on. New widow Carley learns to transcend loss with the help of friends, family and a new love. Starting a new B&B in her home adds a different dimension of warmth and strength that I enjoyed. The ending seemed a bit rushed, but all in all a good beach read.
Wendy E. (Mechanicsville, VA) (05/17/11)

Lazy Beach Read
After after a string of heavier titles, Heat Wave is a great light book to get lost in for awhile. The plot is a bit predictable and the characters could use a some more depth, but it is still worth the investment of time to check out Thayer's latest book. She covers everything from family ties, parenting, loss, business, new love, and betrayal in Heat Wave. It would be perfect to sit on the shore while reading about this Nantucket community.
Cynthia C. (Peekskill, NY) (05/16/11)

Heat Wave
Another terrific book by Nancy Thayer, Heat Wave is a great read. Well-written, with interesting & realistic characters, the story follows recent widow, Carley & her 2 young daughters, as they struggle with their loss & changed financial status. As always, Ms. Thayer has written a book, full of warmth & insight.

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Islamic Enlightenment
    The Islamic Enlightenment
    by Christopher de Bellaigue
    In this comprehensive and well-researched history, de Bellaigue examines the evolution of Islamic ...
  • Book Jacket: The Leavers
    The Leavers
    by Lisa Ko
    The day before Deming Guo saw his mother for the last time, she surprised him at school. A navy blue...
  • Book Jacket: Wonderful Feels Like This
    Wonderful Feels Like This
    by Sara Lovestam
    High school is hard; or perhaps, more accurately, growing up and finding oneself is hard. This is ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -