Read what people think about Sister by Rosamund Lupton, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Sister

A Novel

by Rosamund Lupton

Sister by Rosamund Lupton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2011
    336 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 22 reader reviews for Sister
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Lisa E. (Cincinnati, OH) (06/28/11)

More about Families than Crime
This novel is a meditation on families more than a murder mystery. Unobtrusively written sort of in the second person, as a letter addressed to the narrator's murdered sister, the novel explores the dynamics among a family that had been shattered years ago by the death of a brother and now is facing the murder of a sister. The murder mystery itself is a little far-fetched but well within belief. The novel is well-written and compelling.
Beverly J. (Huntersville, NC) (06/28/11)

Heart-breaking Suspense
This was an accomplished debut novel that grabbed me from the first page to the unexpected finish. While the story read like a detective novel, it definitely has a feminine feel as it concentrates on the bond between the sisters, and the other female characters. I enjoyed how the suspense was built around the characters and builds one fact at a time. The author’s skills as a screen writer show as she vividly paints each scene. Many times I felt I was intruding into the intimate life of Beatrice as she bares her soul with the grief of losing her sister. The author masterfully blends suspense, intrigue, family secrets, literary aspects and the epistolary format to produce a chilling, tragic, heart-breaking story that despite the warning builds to an unexpected twist at the end.
Robyn N. (Highland Village, TX) (06/16/11)

Sisters
Although I enjoyed the book, there was too much fluff. It could've been told in far fewer words. I thought the character development was good and the ending was somewhat of a surprise....a little predictable but it was still good.
Kimberly B. (Atlanta, GA) (06/14/11)

Unbroken Bonds Make Great Stories!
Rosamund Lupton is a brilliant author who uses vivid imagery and emphasis on human emotion to lure the reader! Through the main character Beatrice, Lupton displays impenetrable bonds of blood and love and their powerful affects on the human mind in terms of sanity.

This is a suspenseful story of the persistent unshakeable love of a sister that can't be daunted even by the bonds of death.

Plain and simple, this book is a good read! Perfect for book clubs!
Meera (Ma) (06/12/11)

a moving thriller
When I started this book, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. The book is written in the perspective of the main character talking directly to her missing sister and brings up a lot of anecdotes from the past while still in the present. I found it hard to keep track of what is happening. However, once I became accustomed to the unique narrative style, I was drawn into the story. I had to know what happened to the missing sister. They mystery was attention grabbing and was not easy to figure out. I found the main character to be deeply faceted. This book would appeal to readers who like mysteries and/or thrillers. I think the author did a fine job with her first novel. I could not give this the highest rating because I think her writing needed some polishing, especially in the beginning of the novel. But I would definitely read her next novel.
Krista (Grayslake, IL) (06/10/11)

Sisters - a bit disappointed
I was looking forward to this book, as I am very close to my sisters and thought the premise of one sister seeking justice for her murdered sister would be a compelling read. The book started strongly, and really kept my interest, but about half-way thru, it started slowing down and lost me. Some of the characters just didn't seem believable, I didn't totally finish the book, but skimmed the end to see Who Done It, and was disappointed in the ending. I did find the subject matter to be interesting, just sort of lost steam along the way.
Rebecca J. (Knoxville, TN) (06/06/11)

Sister by Lupton
I looked forward to reading this book as I am a big fan of psychological thrillers. This is the story of Beatrice who cannot believe her sister Tess has committed suicide even though that is the police finding. Beatrice decides to investigate. The story kept you guessing "who done it" until the end and was well written, if a bit unbelievable in spots. I would definitely read another book by this author.
Marta T. (Lafayette, CA) (06/05/11)

Poignant mystery in unusual style
This story is a letter to a beloved sister. The narrator, Bea, describes her search for the truth behind her sister's disappearance, which becomes linked with a pregnancy and apparent suicide. The immediacy of the telling is subtly layered, focusing on the history of the sisters' bond to understand present events, which are relayed in three close time periods: the first, Bea's observation of the investigation; the second, her retelling of events to a lawyer; and the third, the drafting of the letter. Sister is a suspenseful mystery touching on devotion, betrayal, self-absorption, madness, and above all, grief.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Castle of Water
    Castle of Water
    by Dane Huckelbridge
    When a whopping 24 out of 27 readers give a book 4 or 5 stars, you know you have a winner on your ...
  • Book Jacket: Havana
    Havana
    by Mark Kurlansky
    History with flavor...culture with spice...language with gusto...it would be hard to find a better ...
  • Book Jacket: Temporary People
    Temporary People
    by Deepak Unnikrishnan
    In this powerful and innovative collection of 28 short stories, Deepak Unnikrishnan presents a ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest
by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    If We Were Villains
    by M. L. Rio

    An intelligent and captivating story of the enduring power and passion of words.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    No One Is Coming to Save Us
    by Stephanie Powell Watts

    One of Entertainment Weekly, Nylon and Elle's most anticipated books of 2017.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Our wisdom comes from our experience, and our experience comes from our foolishness

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Y S M B, I'll S Y

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -