Read what people think about The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Devotion of Suspect X

by Keigo Higashino

The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2011
    304 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 24 reader reviews for The Devotion of Suspect X
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

K.U. (02/24/15)

Reminiscent of Hitchock!
Keigo Higashino is now one of my favorite authors. His "mysteries" are quite intellectually stimulating - enough to be considered literary fiction. His characters and stories reveal layer after layer of depth and feeling. I would highly recommend this book!
Rachel B. (Waynetown, IN) (02/04/11)

Twists and turns to a dramatic end
I very much enjoyed this book, and will be recommending it to my book club primarily because so often in the story the sense of what is right and fair is distorted by sympathy for Ishigami and Yasuko, even when in hindsight it would be completely unjust for things to turn out the way they would have liked. I appreciate that not only is the big picture spectacular at the very end, but also that once the whole of events is revealed I found myself remembering little glimpses all along the way that lent validation to the final chapters. Very well thought-out and much potential for group discussion.
Maggie R. (Canoga Park, CA) (01/26/11)

A stew of elements
I collect mystery/espionage set in other countries and find this a backdoor into other cultures. The Devotion of Suspect X did not disappoint. And it has the added element of the mathematical puzzlement to add suspense.
Nikki R. (Irvine, CA) (01/20/11)

Misplaced Devotion ?
Having grown up in Gardena, CA post WWll the Japanese culture was very familiar to me. I fell under the spell of this book quickly and virtually clipped from page to page. The writing started out a bit stilted, but with the quickly developed plot and twists it soon didn't matter. It's all here; love, loyalty, dishonesty, guilt, regret, and of course murder. Would love to see this as a movie! If I have any complaint the ending felt like I hit a wall. It wasn't very satisfying.
Power Reviewer Mary O. (Boston, MA) (01/14/11)

Haunting
This is truly a murder mystery or "whodunit" page turner! It is an engrossing read where you don't want to take a break when you are reading it. This book continues to haunt you after you finish the last page. It is a book about love, blind devotion, sacrifice, truth and justice. With some surprising twists and turns, the question remains "does justice prevail?"
Power Reviewer Lee M. (Creve Coeur, MO) (01/12/11)

The Devotion of Suspect X
Keigo Higashino has written a twist on the usual murder mystery. This not a ‘who done it’ as the reader is told who, when, and why in the beginning. How the murderer is hidden from the police is slowly and cleverly laid out by the author in an amazing mind duel by two old mathematical school acquaintances
Amy H. (Benbrook, TX) (01/08/11)

I was pleasantly surprised!
I really enjoyed this book! It was a well-written book by a Japanese author - evidently the book was released in Japan in 2005 but has only recently been translated to English and is scheduled to be released in February 2011 in the US. Evidently this author is the Japanese version of "James Patterson" so I was interested to read it. Let me tell you, I was not disappointed! After I established some familiarity with the Japanese names (which was a little difficult for me), the story fell together. Wonderful plot development at a pace just quick enough to keep me interested, but not so fast as to be rushed or unrealistic. There's a huge twist at the end that I never expected, and I will definitely be looking for other books by this author! (In English, of course).
Marta T. (Lafayette, CA) (01/06/11)

well-crafted plot
The writer of this mystery, unlike many modern works written for an English-speaking audience, takes a leisurely approach with many layers. The story begins by establishing the relationship between two Japanese neighbors before a murder occurs and continues with a game of cat-and-mouse between one of them and a police consultant who understands how his mind works. The murder cover-up is the real focus of the story. Recommended for the plot, but pacing may be slow and characters too thin for some readers.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hillbilly Elegy
    Hillbilly Elegy
    by J.D. Vance
    In this illuminating memoir, Vance recounts his trajectory from growing up a "hillbilly" in ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dark Flood Rises
    The Dark Flood Rises
    by Margaret Drabble
    Margaret Drabble, the award-winning novelist and literary critic who is approaching eighty and ...
  • Book Jacket: All Our Wrong Todays
    All Our Wrong Todays
    by Elan Mastai
    You need a great deal of time to read All Our Wrong Todays, but don't let that put you off. ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Lola
    by Melissa Scrivner Love

    An astonishing debut crime thriller about an unforgettable woman.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Mercies in Disguise
    by Gina Kolata

    A story of hope, a family's genetic destiny, and the science that rescued them.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

The good writer, the great writer, has what I have called the three S's: The power to see, to sense, and to say

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -