Read what people think about The Ghost of Milagro Creek by Melanie Sumner, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Ghost of Milagro Creek

by Melanie Sumner

The Ghost of Milagro Creek
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2010
    272 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 21 reader reviews for The Ghost of Milagro Creek
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Andrea L. (Cottonwood Heights, UT) (08/11/10)

Spiritually rich, thought provoking
This book is rich in symbolism and spirituality, and the author has pulled from universal themes, as well as Native American cosmology. The overriding message of this book is death, but not simply the negative connotation that society has given to the concept of death. The author presents death as part of a duality, as being an opportunity as well as a setback. In this sense, death can be a release from the physical realm, a chance for spiritual rebirth, an opportunity to begin a new life. The characters are engaging and well developed, my favorite being Abuela. In Abuela, the author has found a true voice through which to speak to the reader. Overall it is an enjoyable read, with plenty of material for the reader to think through between chapters.
Gary R. (bolingbrook, IL) (08/02/10)

The Wind Talked
It would be easy enough to say this is a book about two friends,one girl,one grandmother,one tragedy and a host of other characters but that's not all this book is about.the landscape of the Santa Fe and Taos area of New Mexico permeates this book! The culture of the area also plays a big part. I found this book to be a very good read, but it helps if you know a little bit of Spanish the stories within the story were a very nice touch. A very good writer who knows the area she writes about and who writes from the heart, read it!
Power Reviewer Judy G. (Carmel, IN) (08/01/10)

Disappointed in the Ghost
Not a page-turner for me. To enjoy you must read in 1-2 sittings which was impossible for me. Book jumped around so much I never became truly engaged. However, I found some incredibly beautiful sections--when Rocky, Mister & Tomas visited the symphony, Mister's questions of Chief as a boy, etc. I am very impressed with this author's ability & potential; but am disappointed in the structure and construction.
Carole C. (Upper Marlboro, MD) (07/28/10)

Ghosts and Rocks can Speak
Murder, miracles and mysticism are as prevalent in Melanie Sumner's "The Ghost of Milagro Creek" as complex characters, consuming love, and a landscape so compelling that it becomes a character. Although the author tells the story through the many voices of her characters, witness statements, police reports, interviews, letters, and petroglyphs, the voice that speaks most eloquently to this reader is that of Abuela Ignacia, a deceased woman who, like other characters, defies simple definition. "Whatever I was: Spanish or Indian, nurse or nutcase, dead or alive -- I would be remember." And, she will.

Non-linear in its structure and haunting in its release of detail, this book would be an excellent choice for book clubs and for anyone who loves flawed but compassionate characters, subtle symbolism and hidden meanings, and a tale whose open-ended conclusion challenges the imagination of the reader.
Terrie J. (Eagan, MN) (07/26/10)

Very Impactful Story
At first this story appears to be a simple story about friends/brothers growing up in New Mexico. The story quickly becomes complicated and heart breaking. It takes some unexpected twists that keep you wondering what could happen next.

The story is told from different characters, mixed with narrative in Spanish. This makes is sometimes hard to follow or perhaps, it adds to the charm of the book.

This would be an excellent book group read - as an added bonus, reading group questions are included at the end of the book!
Robin W. (Marinette, WI) (07/24/10)

I just don't get it.....
I have a tough time understanding a story with mystical and spiritual elements. The story jumped between time frames and was difficult for me to understand. However, I did want to keep reading - I found the characters and the locations compelling.
Marci G. (Sicklerville, New Jersey) (07/21/10)

Dissapointing
I am usually on target with my book choices, but The Ghost of Milagro Creek disappointed me. I enjoyed learning about the Indian and Hispanic culture in Taos, New Mexico but felt I never got a handle on the characters. Overall the book was difficult to follow, very disjointed
Karen H. (Auburn, MA) (07/20/10)

Interesting, but hard to follow
I really wanted to thoroughly enjoy this book! Instead I only got about halfway there. I loved how the story was told through the eyes of the old witch, and how it weaved in the lives of the children. The writing style gave it a fairy-tale/folk-tale feel that drew me in, but the story jumped around in a way that didn't feel cohesive. Sometimes jumping around can add to a story line, but in this case it took away from it. Not 5 stars, but an interesting and different read.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...
  • Book Jacket: Coffin Road
    Coffin Road
    by Peter May
    From its richly atmospheric opening to its dramatic conclusion, Peter May's Coffin Road is a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guineveres
    The Guineveres
    by Sarah Domet
    It's a human need to know one's own identity, to belong to someone, to yearn for a place ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win All the Gallant Men

All The Gallant Men

The first memoir by a USS Arizona survivor, 75 years after Pearl Harbor.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Y Eyes P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.