Read what people think about Stash by David Matthew Klein, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Stash

by David Matthew Klein

Stash
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2010
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for Stash
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Mark C (06/28/10)

Absorbing
In addition to being a "page turner", this book speaks to the issues surrounding the business of drug development, and the use of "recreational" drugs in our society. The book would be ideal for holding a discussion group. The writing keeps the reader engaged and wanting to know the fate of each the characters. I highly recommend this exciting novel.
Kelly P. (Lake Oswego, OR) (06/21/10)

Stash & Consequences
I asked to review this novel due to two interesting jobs I have had with the State of Oregon: I was the first manager of Oregon's Medical Marijuana Program (following a voter initiative in 1999), and I currently work for the Oregon State Police. In the course of these two jobs, I have had numerous contacts with marijuana users (primarily medical but also "recreational"), their physicians, their attorneys, and their families; and also with law enforcement officers trying to deal with the conflicts between state and federal law. I was struck by the even-handed and non-judgmental presentation of the issues explored by the novel, and found it kept my attention throughout. The writing was above average, the story engaging (with some unexpected twists), and the characters were intriguing and well-developed. I also appreciated the dual plot-lines of "legal" and "illegal" drugs, and the many ways one's life can be derailed in an instant. This book is somewhat reminiscent of "Little Children" (in a good way). I would recommend it.
William B. (East Peoria, IL) (06/10/10)

A Strong Marriage
Very enjoyable first novel, compelling story. I would recommend this for book clubs. The ending, in particular, would be good fodder for conversation.
Laura A. (Jeremiah, KY) (06/08/10)

Interesting Book
I thought this book was interesting. It takes a look at how drug use occurs across a wide sector of the population and the various levels of involvement from each (rare occasional user, young/beginner user, moderate user, seller) and law officials who try to stop the sale and use of it altogether. It looks at how all of these people are tied together and at what point is it acceptable and at what point is it not. It would be a good book club choice.
Teresa C. (Pickerington, OH) (06/06/10)

Stash
I really enjoyed this book. It was not only a book that kept my attention but it made me think and put myself in each of the character's shoes. The author did a great job with character development. I was able to feel empathy for each of the characters although they were all flawed, and had made mistakes that impacted not only one another but had far reaching affects. Great book...hard to believe it is the author's first novel!
Lola T. (Broken Arrow, OK) (06/04/10)

Stash
I must start with a disclaimer; that is I have a real problem with a casual treatment of any kind of substance abuse in any entertainment format. That said, once I put aside that prejudice and judged the book, I found it to be a good read. If a book group enjoys books that provoke discussion on ethical and social issues, this might be a good choice. But if the group would rather debate the literary merits of a book, I would not consider it. Ultimately, by the end of the book, I was not sorry that I'd put the time into reading it, since it was entertaining. I just had a problem with the nagging feeling that I was reading a book that perhaps was written with an eye towards being picked up by a motion picture company.
Laura K. (Middletown, NJ) (06/03/10)

Stash
I thought the main characters were self-absorbed and made some poor decisions. The first half of the book was slow, full of unnecessary details, and I had to force myself to keep reading it (never a good thing). The last third of the book was much more intriguing, I was anxious to find out what would happen next.
Amellia H. (Omaha, Nebraska) (05/27/10)

Interesting choice of storylines...
I was captured by the storylines in this book from the minute I read about it. The idea of a woman involved in an accident after smoking pot, and a husband who is trying to rationalize the use of a drug for other purposes. I must admit as the story juggled the storylines, I felt myself speed reading through the husband's ordeal with the drug company. I did not feel this part of the story was as compelling as the wife's story. As I read I was looking for a turning point or a "oh my gosh" moment in the book which didn't happen. This left me slightly disappointed, however the overall story was enjoyable - just not exactly what I was expecting.

More Information

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

A library is thought in cold storage

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.