Read what people think about Gone Tomorrow by Lee Child, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Gone Tomorrow

A Jack Reacher Novel #13

by Lee Child

Gone Tomorrow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2010
    576 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 6
There are currently 46 reader reviews for Gone Tomorrow
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

pete (02/18/12)

gone tomorrow
Unlike the other Reacher novels I've read, this focuses more on the investigative aptitude rather than mere violence. Some may say it lacks as result? I however loved it!
charlie brandt (08/02/11)

Why is the memory stick so important
The book was well written with a great plot. My wife and I couldn't put it down when we were each reading it.

However, at the end of the day, it's never clear why the pictures on the memory stick were important. I still can't understand why the "bad guys" would go to all the trouble to sneak 19 people into the United States to get the memory stick back.
Paula W. (Winfield, IL) (11/10/10)

Had Me at the First Sentence!
"Suicide bomber are easy to spot." Gone Tomorrow grabbed my throat from the get-go and never let loose till Jack Reacher was on his way again. Plot twists and reversals and surprises abound--plausible implausibilities-- and I couldn't put this book down. Caution: a couple of scenes with graphic descriptions made me skip a few pages. But this book made me a Jack Reacher fan forever.
Karen D. (Dedham, MA) (11/03/10)

Gone
I enjoyed reading this book. I am a big fan of mystery/suspense books, so this was a good fit. I had to put the book down for a couple of days, but when I returned to the story, I could remember who the characters were and the story line. Good descriptions of the situations left me wanting more. I hope to read more and to read his newest novel.
Maria P. (Washington, DC) (10/26/10)

Urban Realities
A fascinating look at current issues and concerns in a novelistic setting. City life has changed for everyone, this novel let's you see this through the eyes of someone involved in conflict and survival. The suspense thru-out is very intense and it would make an excellent film. Some current historical situations add reality and an edge to the detail of the storyline.
Becky D. (Jackson, TN) (10/26/10)

Page Turner
I am certain that this will be the first of many Lee Child's books that I will read. As I'm finishing I'm already planning my search for the next one. Gone Tomorrow deals with current issues and brings home the tangled web of national security, espionage, and high stakes politics. I would highly recommend Gone Tomorrow to those who like a fast paced and to the point suspense novel. Reacher is a fascinating character who draws you in from the get go. His nuance for details and innuendoes is enthralling. Great read, nearly impossible to put down.
Karen S. (Minneapolis, MN) (10/26/10)

Gone Tomorrow
A decent read, not great. I was expecting a book that I absolutely could not put down, and while I found the chapter endings urged me to continue, the tug was not so great that the laundry didn't get done.
Marcia W. (Toledo, Ohio) (10/24/10)

Gone Tomorrow
My first experience with Lee Child and his protagonist Jack Reacher. I would definitely recommend this book. It is a page turner from beginning to end. Definitely on par with Michael Connelly and David Baldacci. The quality of writing definitely overshadows any feeling of guilty pleasure associated with reading this genre of writing,

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.