Read what people think about The Secret Keeper by Paul Harris, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Secret Keeper

by Paul Harris

The Secret Keeper by Paul Harris X
The Secret Keeper by Paul Harris
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2009
    336 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book

Buy This Book

About this book


Page 1 of 5
There are currently 35 reader reviews for The Secret Keeper
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Bonnie (Mukwonago, WI) (04/10/09)

Next Step: Screenplay
The matter-of-fact journalistic style of Paul Harris catches your interest from the start of his first novel, The Secret Keeper. Possibly better suited as the pre-write for a movie screenplay, readers will be inclined to visualize interactions among the characters throughout the book. While not the lesson on Sierra Leone you may have expected, a good story nonetheless.
Kathy S. (DeForest, WI) (04/04/09)

The Secret Keeper
This was a good book. I enjoyed that it was about a country I knew little about. This book may be a little too gruesome for book clubs, but suspense readers will like this novel.
Power Reviewer
Harriette K. (Weston, FL) (03/26/09)

The Secret Keeper
When a journalist returns to Sierra Leone to uncover the cause and reason for the mysterious death of his former lover, he runs into danger wherever he turns. The story leads us to all the answers, but not before taking us and our protagonist through many harrowing experiences. While this is a good, fast read and at times suspenseful, the flashbacks and twists get very confusing. I had to turn back a few times to determine what year the story was in. The author is also a journalist making me hope that his next attempt at fiction will be a little better.
Pat M. (san antonio, TX) (03/25/09)

The Secret Keeper
War correspondent, Danny Kellerman receives a brief note from his former lover in Sierra Leone. "I need you. I'm in trouble." At this time, Danny learns of her violent death. The reader follows Danny's journey back to this hellhole.. His path leads him into a world of deceit and greed. Civil war surrounds Danny as he tries to piece together the answer. The theme will stay with the reader long after the book has been put down.
Mary D. (Claremont, CA) (03/24/09)

The Secret Keeper by Paul Harris
The Secret Keeper was written by Paul Harris, who was, in fact, a correspondent in Africa for four years, and knows his subject well. While it contains many of the essentials necessary to a good spy/espionage genre, there is also a lot of factual background information. Since the political crisis in Sierra Leone is a subject virtually unknown to me, this information was pertinent to understanding the characters and events that took place.

Needless to say, there are many twists and turns, good guys turn out to be not so good, bad guys are sometimes bad by necessity, but the horrible truths behind what has happened in that area are hard to disguise.

It was an exciting, captivating read with strong characters that I found difficult to put down. I highly recommend this book.
Valerie (03/23/09)

Hmmmm.......I hate to say it but.....
Overall, I must say this is a pretty forgettable book. The storyline concept is good, but the writing does not flow, the main character is a bit lame, and all the characters lack depth. This book may appeal more to male readers....but there is no way I can recommend it. Sorry.
Jeff (03/18/09)

The Secret Keeper
A far-away place with political intrigue usually makes a good combination for a story and Paul Harris succeeds in his first novel. Harris's descriptions puts the reader right in the middle of Sierra Leone's civil war, with the seemingly casual nature of life and death in the war zone, the perceived invincibility of journalists and allies and foes who are not what they appear to be, Fast-paced, you do want to find out what happens. The ending will likely surprise a majority of readers, but you will feel satisfied with the conclusion upon finishing the book. Recommended.
Jill (03/18/09)

A hit! Be ready to read late into the night...
In his first novel, Paul Harris has done the near impossible: combining a tightly designed mystery; love story and self discovery journey into a compelling and exciting read.

When British journalist Danny Kellerman is unexpectedly summoned to Sierra Leone - the place where he made his best and worst decisions in life and journalism - by his former love, he begins a journey that will have him questioning what is and isn’t real, relevant or true.

A great book for a club read, Kellerman’s journey is filled with physical danger, unexpected emotion and the ultimate journalistic conflict between truth and consequence.

A twisty and unexpected plot keeps you reading far past the time you’ve allotted—expect to be drawn into The Secret Keeper late into the night—and expect to see Harris again; hopefully this is the first of a long list of bestselling novels from a talented writer. I hope he’s already working on the next.

More Information


Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Eat the Apple
    Eat the Apple
    by Matt Young
    Truth is stranger than fiction. Matt Young's memoir tackles the space in between truth and ...
  • Book Jacket: Educated
    by Tara Westover
    Tara Westover had the kind of upbringing most of us can only imagine. She was the youngest of seven ...
  • Book Jacket: The Girls in the Picture
    The Girls in the Picture
    by Melanie Benjamin
    Melanie Benjamin's fine historical novel about the relationship between two women in the early ...
  • Book Jacket: The Driest Season
    The Driest Season
    by Meghan Kenny
    On a summer afternoon in 1943, an almost sixteen-year-old Cielle Jacobson walks into the family barn...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Sometimes I Lie
    by Alice Feeney

    This brilliant psychological thriller asks: Is something a lie if you believe it's the truth?
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions
    by Mario Giordano

    A charming, bighearted novel starring Auntie Poldi, Sicily's newest amateur sleuth.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Balcony

The Balcony
by Jane Delury

A century-spanning novel-in-stories of a French village brimming with compassion, natural beauty, and unmistakable humanity.


Word Play

Solve this clue:

I Y L D W D, Y'll G U W Fleas

and be entered to win..

Books that     

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.