Read what people think about Green Monster by Rick Shefchik, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Green Monster

A Sam Skarda Mystery

by Rick Shefchik

Green Monster
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Sep 2008
    306 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 19 reader reviews for Green Monster
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Mary (08/04/08)

Spotlight on Red Sox Nation
This is a great beach read - fast paced and a quick summer read! All baseball fans will love this mystery. The characters are multifaceted and there are good twists and turns not all predictable. I found it to be a very enjoyable page turner, sheer enjoyment not "great literature"! As a Red Sox fan, I loved the familiar players and local places and anyone from Boston especially would love to read it!
Stephen (07/20/08)

For those huge Sox fans!!!
I've never been a big fan of continuing series books so I go in with a bit of hesitation here. After reading this book, I would summarize it as a good mystery novel but maybe not for your average fan. This one will get its most enjoyment from diehard Red Sox fans. Though I like the Sox, I must admit that they are not my favorite team.

The character development could have been better, however the twist and turns are enough to keep you turning the pages.

All in all, not a bad book just don't expect to see it come Edgar award time.
Melanie (07/19/08)

Loved it....
Being a die hard Red Sox fan certainly made this an enjoyable read for me. I loved reading about all the local references and some of the details from the World Series games that Boston won!!!

Although I *am* a true Red Sox fan, I do believe that any lover of baseball would truly enjoy this book. It was well detailed and the story flowed nicely. I enjoyed the character development as well!!!

A great book made even better by adding a little bit of Red Sox Nation!! :)
Rebecca (07/15/08)

Green Monster by Rick shefchik
I was excited about reviewing this book because, being a baseball mystery, I thought boys in the high school where I teach might enjoy it. The mystery had lots of baseball information especially about the Boston Red Sox and the Green Monster which is a big green wall in the Boston outfield. I love sports and that part was good along with an ok mystery. Unfortunately, the book was filled with gratuitous sex which, for me, only made it difficult for me to get through. I felt the author was showing off his manhood or something and just throwing all the hook-ups in to be "manly"?! What the offensiveness did was make this book unsuitable for all but some men who are real Red Sox fans.
Marge (07/14/08)

Red Sox fans will want to love this book
Author Rick Shefchik isn‘t from Boston, but he definitely understands New England fans’ passion for baseball. The story lines of World Series, athletes and drugs, love, families, guns, murder, and power weave together in a fast tho often confusing pace. Red Sox fans will want to love this book but the characters are one-dimensional. This is not a brainy book, but it’s a fun and enjoyable mystery.
Eileen (07/10/08)

Titletown
Green Monster is a great selection for Red Sox fans and fans of baseball. It is a good book for a long plane trip or a day at the beach. Green Monster is a fun read, full of action and characters you enjoy knowing. Sam Skarda, The P.I. , is especially engaging. The story keeps you guessing until the end and is very topical.
Mary (07/09/08)

Green Monster
I enjoyed this book very much. I am a baseball fan, but I think even someone who doesn't follow baseball would enjoy the book.

The mystery has interesting characters, several different locations, humor, and baseball facts and lore mixed in, all of which keep the story moving and hard to put down. This was a great read, especially during baseball season.
Joe (07/09/08)

The Green Monster
I am a lover of good mysteries and anything that has to do with baseball so I was eagerly awaiting this book. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed. This book is not a good mystery and the baseball background leaves much to be desired. The characters are weak, and in the case of the two ballplayers, are unrealistic. Much of the story is unbelievable. How in the post 9/11 world can the main character fly commercial airliners all around the world and arrive carrying his favorite glock automatic? Some lovers of action and adventure may enjoy this book but not mystery lovers and baseball fans.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.