Read what people think about Precious Thing by Colette McBeth, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Precious Thing

by Colette McBeth

Precious Thing
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2014
    304 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 reader reviews for Precious Thing
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Carrie (04/21/16)

The Precious Thing
I didn't get it. I didn't know who was the bad guy. At the end Clara makes you think that Rachel is seeing things differently but if you remember the events from the beginning, it doesn't seem that way. The book in general keeps you guessing without revealing anything in the end. I got that its a long letter so if that's the catch then that's very good because its only one point of view.
Cynthia C. (Peekskill, NY) (02/20/14)

Precious Thing
I found this to be a very enjoyable psychological thriller and mystery. Written as a series of letters to her best friend, the point of view is obviously very narrow, which as some have pointed out, can make for an unreliable narrator. And that, to me, is what made it so interesting. There were numerous twists & turns in the plot and as the story went on, it got darker and darker.

I will certainly be looking for more from Ms. McBeth.
Wendy W. (Ann Arbor, MI) (02/13/14)

Rough start, but smooth finish
I had a hard time getting into this book. The literary device of writing the story as if it is a letter to somebody took me while to get used to. However, what starts as a pedestrian missing person story eventually turns into an intriguing psychological thriller with a twisty conclusion.
Wendy R. (Pewaukee, Wisconsin) (02/12/14)

Sure of your Best Friend?
Even when you think you know your best friend, have shared poignant moments and would do anything for her, life has a way of surprising you. Whether you were blinded by love for her, never asked the right questions or thought silence speaks volumes, this book will take you down a path you never expected. I was smitten from the beginning wondering how well I knew my best friend. The plot twists and turns into darkness with plenty of psychological intrigue. I would highly recommend to book clubs for thought provoking discussion. Is she really your best friend or are you being used at all costs, even human life.
Gail I. (Delray Beach, FL) (02/12/14)

Intriguing
Comparisons aside to Gone Girl, this book has a unique style and will be one you cannot put down. I like books about friendship and how people change over the years. I found it to be an interesting novel.
Teresa H. (Mechanicsville, VA) (01/30/14)

Rather Twisted
If I had the option I would give this 2.5 stars. It is slightly more deserving than a 2 if for no other reason it held my interest to the end. This book is so full of twists and turns that I was never sure what was real or imagined and felt rather off-kilter until the end. I kept comparing it to The Other Typist as I was reading it except I found the characters in Precious Thing to be fairly contrived and unbelievable overall.
Pamela F. (Grants Pass, OR) (01/29/14)

Wish I had read this before Gone Girl
This book drove me crazy. I did not like the main character or the narrative style. The craziness of the "friendship" drove me crazy. I, however, kept reading for all the plot twists and turns. Gone Girl is a read alike I am pretty sure. But it is a better book. Maybe I would have liked this one better had I read it first. Although I had a hard time finishing this, I did want to know how it ended and there is something to be said for that.
Susan B. (Coventry, RI) (01/21/14)

Precious Thing
Once I began reading this book I found it difficult to put it down. The plot demanded that you continue right to the surprise ending.The story involves two women who have been friends since they were children. There's a secret about their closeness that is not revealed right away. It is part of the mystery that keeps you reading. What happens to them as adults is the bulk of the novel. It is highly dramatic, very dark and scary in some parts.I don't usually read from this genre but it was a well written book and it kept my attention right up to the very end. I frequently read two books concurrently but could not do so once I began this book. It demanded my attention so that I couldn't concentrate on anything else. I needed to finish this and find out what was happening to these women. When I got to the end I wanted to go back and read the book again so I could remain in the atmosphere that was created in the book. I'll give this book a 3 and a half rating.

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.