Read what people think about The Girl in the Green Raincoat by Laura Lippman, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Girl in the Green Raincoat

A Novel

by Laura Lippman

The Girl in the Green Raincoat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2011
    208 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 reader reviews for The Girl in the Green Raincoat
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kelly (Chagrin Falls, Ohio) (12/26/10)

Great plot twist; weak character development
Overall, the book is a fast read and quite good. The plot is very interesting and familiar. The plot twist is unexpected and delightful and converts a familiar story to a unique story. The only real weakness is a lack of character development in all but Tess' character. Perhaps such development is not necessary as the story is Tess plus the plot. However, a bit more rounding out of some of the other characters, particularly Crow and Whitney, would provide depth to the story to make it a great read.
Patti F (12/08/10)

Girl in the Green Raincoat
Having never read a Tess Monaghan novel before (where have I been??) I will be back for more! I felt like I was out there on that porch with Tess, in this twist of Rear Window. The story pulled you right in but it is the cadence of the language that keeps you engaged. Each chapter appears to be a mini layer all its own, stories within the main story that added to the plot. Just wonderful.
Barbra W. (Dexter, MI) (12/03/10)

The Girl in the Green Raincoat
After reading the first few pages of this novella, it struck me as the perfect easy, get-away-from-it-all story. With a nod to "Rear Window" and likable main characters it seemed like a great weekend read. But as I got into the book, I found the overall cadence of the book rather flat and predictable. The characters seemed somewhat 2-dimensional. The main character never struck me as particularly good at her job as an investigator, nor did the "big twist" in the plot seem all that surprising. So while I'd like to recommend the book, I'd have to say that overall it was just so-so and I wouldn't seek out other books in this series.
Kathy G. (Alamo, CA) (12/01/10)

The Girl in The Green Raincoat
I read the book in two days between house guests and preparing Thanksgiving dinner. It was a welcome friend as I slipped into bed after a long fun day. My only negative is that I had trouble relating to Tess's attitude toward pregnancy. I was glad that she became a loving and caring mother at the end. Regardless, the book was very well written and I will read another of Laura Lippman's novels.
Nancy D. (West Chester, PA) (12/01/10)

Short but worthwhile
I enjoyed this book, especially the premise of Tess's confinement. Although the book was short, really a novella, the story kept my interest and was well executed. I have read books by Laura Lippman before but this was my first Tess Monaghan. It will not be my last.
June A. (Randallstown, Maryland) (11/26/10)

The Girl in the Green Raincoat
Interesting plot. Otherwise rather insipid. Little character development. My first encounter with this author, but it probably appeals to fans of this series.
Kristen H. (Lowell, MA) (11/23/10)

Mole hill to mountain while still mole hill
This book starts out with Tessa noticing a girl walking in the park with her dog and then the girl goes missing and while everyone else thinks that Tessa is making a mountain out of a mole hill in this girl's disappearance she is certain something is wrong. This book captivated me from the beginning for it starts with such a simple premise and the whole story stays simple though the ending is a bit of a surprise.
Liz M. (Morristown, NJ) (11/23/10)

The Girl in the Green Raincoat
I really enjoyed this book, it's a short story that keeps your interest with a good plot and characters. This was my first book by Laura Lippman, but not my last. I will definitely go back and find other books written by her. A good book to curl up with on a cold evening!

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

The purpose of life is to be defeated by greater and greater things.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.