Read what people think about The Journal Keeper by Phyllis Theroux, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Journal Keeper

A Memoir

by Phyllis Theroux

The Journal Keeper
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2010
    305 pages
    Genre: Biographies & Memoirs

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 15 reader reviews for The Journal Keeper
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Nancy E. (Whitehouse Station, NJ) (02/02/10)

The Journal Keeper
This book should inspire many readers to keep a journal. At first the book is difficult to get into but as you begin to "know" the author it is difficult to put down. I read it in two evenings and found it very enjoyable. Ms. Theroux is revealing about her life, her relationships and her view of the world. This is a book that many women - especially at midlife - will understand and empathize with the author.
Nancy C. (Overland Park, (01/28/10)

The Journal Keeper by Phyllis Theroux
This is a book with a definite appeal, especially for someone close to Ms. Theroux’s age. However, it will be of interest to anyone who keeps a journal, would like to keep a journal, or is just interested in the musings of another person. My only quarrel with this book is that it may be a little too long. By the end it was beginning to be irritating; there was too much carping about the details of her relationship with Ragan. Perhaps, everyone begins to carp at that age. The writing was excellent and it was interesting to learn about Ms Theroux’s relationship with her mother. This was an exceptionally close relationship and was really heartwarming.
Dotty G. (Roswell, GA) (01/26/10)

a keeper...
My shelves are overflowing with books, so much so that I can't keep them all; however, I will keep and treasure this book. The Journal Keeper is a thought provoking, sometimes depressing, sometimes uplifting read. I have highlighted many passages, and each time I pick it up, I find more to highlight. The everyday events of the author's life are intertwined with her writing life. Her themes are universal and honest. I learned from and often identified with this extraordinary memoir.
Sue Ellen Savereide (Cedar Falls, IA) (01/25/10)

Did Not Disappoint
As a "sixty-something" who often finds herself reading memoir (May Sarton, Anne Morrow Lindbergh) I had rather high expectations for this book. I was not disappointed. The book in fact inspired and nudged me to once again take up the practice of journaling. The book begins as the author is in her sixty-first year. At this stage of her life, she yearns to "prune my life so that the strength flows into fewer branches." She honestly chronicles challenges—emotional, financial, physical, mental—and coping mechanisms. Certainly writing—i.e., journal keeping—is one of those mechanisms. In the section " If You Want to Keep a Journal," she advises that a journal "should be a wise friend who helps you create your own enlightenment." Let the writing and the pruning begin!
Deborah P. (Dunnellon, FL) (01/20/10)

The Journal Keeper
Theroux shares a brief insight into her life as a writer in the first ten pages. She then graciously allows the reader to enter her interior thoughts, questions and experiences in the form of short journal entries from 2000 to 2005. Although the book has no identifiable plot it reads like a well written novel. The author's use of metaphors and analogies made this reader want to stop and reflect on her questions, insights and wisdom. So happy to be a member of BookBrowse because I might have missed one of the best books of 2010.
Karen J. (Bremerton, WA) (01/20/10)

Uneven
Captures six years of the author's life. A sketchbook of events, impressions, favorite quotes, observations…. I found my attention wandering in parts but deeply engaged in others. It was a bit uneven for me. Interesting, thought provoking at times, but not as good as some other memoirs I've read.
Julie M. (Bloomington, MN) (01/16/10)

Extraordinary in the Ordinary
This book is like a collection of mini essays about everyday life of a women and Theroux gives new meaning to ordinary daily events in her life and ours. Perfect to read in short spurts because each section will make you want to pause and ponder. Very Good.
Carolyn F. (San Carlos, CA) (01/14/10)

The Journal Keeper
A beautifully written book, this book makes me think every time I pick it up. I read memoirs hoping to learn something about how to deal with the curve balls life throws at me, and this book helped me springboard from her journal entries to situations in my own life. Theroux has also written some lovely essays which I have read.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

More Information

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.