Reader reviews and comments on Valhalla Rising, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Valhalla Rising

by Clive Cussler

Valhalla Rising
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2001, 544 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2002, 528 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 11 reader reviews for Valhalla Rising
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Salys (04/13/07)

By far Cussler's best!!
Valhalla Rising was my 12th Cussler book in under a year and I must say it was definitely the best. The best part of Dirk Pitt's adventures is that they don't have to be historically accurate in order to be a good story. The shocking twists make the story. I'm 16 and I finished this book in less than 9 hours, it's too gripping to put down. Definitely good for Cussler newbies!!
uber (11/26/04)

awesome!!!!!!!!!
Ryon (06/02/04)

Great book. This is my first Dirk Pitt novel, and I thought it was fantastic. The surprise at the end was difficult to believe, but I thout it was exiting. I am a 14 year old from Canada, and was deeply entertained.5/5
Nathaniel (11/06/03)

Cussler has done it again!!! Now, it's surprising that some people would say, "This book stinks," when this is one of his best books ever. He is soooooo good!!!! I just can't wait for his next book!!
Timmy O (07/25/03)

I agree with Tom's assessment ("...The historical aspects were tacked on with seemingly no proper connection to the main storyline...And the ending???")

I was fascinated by the beginning and the lost Viking tribe...even the Captain Nemo stuff was intriguing...but it had NOTHING to do with 3/4 of the book. And the ending explanation about the briefcase was...well, I'm not sure what to say. It's like he hadn't thought things through and had to come up with some extraordinary (and not very believable) explanation to tie it all together.

I think Cussler has talent, but that alone didn't salvage this book for me. I was very disappointed.

(And what's up with everybody "smiling" (e.g. "he said smiling..."; "she smiled") He must have said "he smiled" two hundred times. Clive, there are other facial expressions, don't you know.)
Spud (03/15/03)

This book is excellent, keeping you wondering what will happen next. Very well written and keeps you in it all the way.
Neko (01/04/03)

I used to be a huge fan of Clive Cussler's novels (Raise the Titanic is one I'll never forget), but having read Valhalla Rising - this following severe disappointment in the three preceding it - I can only say that it was most likely the last new Cussler novel that I will read. It is sad to see a novelist like Cussler succumb to clichée after clichée, time after time, offending the reader's intelligence as well his own talent. The man can write good thrillers, with both a believable story and smart characters, so why does he give us books like Valhalla Rising? And to include himself in a key-role? Utterly tasteless, if you ask me. The cameo appearances in the earlier novels was okay, but as with the storyline itself, Cussler has simply gone too far, and overstepped the boundaries of logic and good taste. I can honestly say that never have I been as disappointed in a novel as I was in this one. To give it a one is still way too much.
John (10/10/02)

Excellent! really enjoyed the read, Ending was bizarre are trying to put Dirk out to pasture or is this the beginning of a fiendish plot for the novel. Thanks
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Barkskins
    Barkskins
    by Annie Proulx
    Barkskins, by Annie Proulx, is not a book to read quickly. After a month of slow reading, I ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Marriage of Opposites
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's latest work, The Marriage of Opposites, is a historical fiction novel focusing on ...
  • Book Jacket: Miss Jane
    Miss Jane
    by Brad Watson
    National Book Award Finalist Brad Watson returns with an intimate novel about one woman's journey to...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All Is Not Forgotten
    by Wendy Walker

    This is fast-paced psychological suspense/thriller at it's very best.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Imperial Wife
    by Irina Reyn

    A smart, engaging novel that parallels two fascinating worlds and two singular women.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Fair Fight
by Anna Freeman

A page-turning novel set in the world of 18th century female pugilists.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Summer Stunner
Summer Giveaway

Win 5 books, each week in July!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

W M T N, W C F All

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

BookBrowse Summer Giveaway

We're giving away
5 books every
week in July!