Reader reviews and comments on Blue Diary, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Blue Diary

by Alice Hoffman

Blue Diary by Alice Hoffman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2001, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2002, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 9 reader reviews for Blue Diary
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (07/07/04)

A beautiful and intelligent book about love and loss
Darragh (12/15/03)

This was the first book by Alice Hoffman that I have read and I've mixed reactions to it. In essence, it's worth sticking with the book and reading it for the character development despite the stylistic excesses. Hoffman has a bad case of "purple prose". She would, no doubt, describe it as "an ultra-marine tone, similar to the underside of a Navajo hummingbird's wing during a roseate sunset in the desert"; it is, nonetheless, purple.

What Hoffman can do very well however is understand the complex emotions and thoughts of people caught up in circumstances they feel they do not control. Is it politically incorrect to suggest that her sympathy seems to be a type of feminine consciousness, albeit one men would benefit from developing further?

I struggled with this book and would hesitate to recommend it to a friend whilst at the same time admiring the author’s skill. In future I’ll peek into another Hoffman book to get a glimpse of the prose style before taking it to the checkout.
Gingeena (06/24/03)

I thought this book was superb, I loves how the natural world was drawn into this book and how nature was used to described people and feelings.
Heather Metzler (04/10/03)

I enjoy anything unpredictable and out of the ordinary and Hoffman delivers this in The Blue Diary. I love the multiple points of view that she reveals chapter by chapter. This allowed me to focus my questions and inferences on the plot rather than on how different characters thought or felt. Her symbolism is beautiful and soft in a book with a rather disturbing subject. Rarely do I read a book about the deconstruction of a character--amazing.
fitzy (03/17/03)

I loved this boo- One of my all-time favorites!
annarte (09/06/02)

I only read the beginning of the first chapter.I was immediately repelled by the banality of the prose, one hackneyed image after another.Even if the story is good I can't bring myself to read it.Sorry.
roseann emge (08/22/02)

Alice Hoffman's novels are in a league of their own. Her magical, lyrical prose wraps around the story in a way that leaves the reader wondering how she does it. Blue Diary is a story of hard choices, believable yet imbued with a dreamlike quality. My favorite of her books is Second Nature, but this one is a worthy entry in her body of work.
pp (06/16/02)

This book is lousy.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: If We Were Villains
    If We Were Villains
    by M L. Rio
    22 out of 28 of our reviewers rated If We Were Villains four or five stars, giving it an overall ...
  • Book Jacket: The Islamic Enlightenment
    The Islamic Enlightenment
    by Christopher de Bellaigue
    In this comprehensive and well-researched history, de Bellaigue examines the evolution of Islamic ...
  • Book Jacket: The Leavers
    The Leavers
    by Lisa Ko
    The day before Deming Guo saw his mother for the last time, she surprised him at school. A navy blue...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -