Reader reviews and comments on The Red Tent, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Red Tent

by Anita Diamant

The Red Tent
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1997, 321 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1998, 321 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 7
There are currently 51 reader reviews for The Red Tent
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Elizabeth (03/19/13)

A con
The title states this to be about the biblical Dinah. It is not. It is about an imaginary character constructed by Diamant. She should be honest and not use the biblical characters as a means to attract readers or to express her feminist views if she is not prepared to stick to the story.
iminthetent (03/19/11)

wOw
When I first laid my eyes on it, I thought, "Oh God. Another stupid feminism book." But, when I started reading it, I was so enticed I had to keep reading more. The graphic scenes are disturbing yet powerful. They made me feel something. Dinah's story is told in a truly spectacular way.
Sarah (03/17/11)

Great book
I thought this book was really good and well written. Even though i am not a very religious person, i still understood it and loved the story line.
Chris (09/14/10)

Disgusting Novel
This book was the most disgusting book I have ever read. Diamant takes prophets of God and turns them into masturbating sex-fiends who can not think with their heads. I skipped the first pornographic section as I was so disgusted by her gross interpretation of how she perceived these men of God to behave. I understand this is a work of fiction, but she uses the Bible as her base and turns beloved Bible characters into people the reader will hate. I am certain Diamant has no respect for the Bible or any of the people in the Bible- otherwise, she never would have written this most distasteful book.
chick (08/27/08)

Chick Book
This book was given to my friend's 15 year old son as a required book to read over the summer. Very inappropriate for 15 year old boys, but I loved it. I would recommend it to any female. I just hope it isn't taken as Gospel. The story is not very flattering to Jacob and his sons.
Sarah Politi (06/24/08)

The Red Tent
Names of the characters are about the only truth in this book. It is sad when writers misuse holy scriptures for commercial purposes and not for truth.
Rachel (09/03/07)

The Red Tent
One of my favourite books! Many novels don't seem so good the second time you read them, but this one is worth re-reading over and over. It really brings the ancient world to life. I like the way Diamant gives Jacob a realistic lifespan; Genesis is in my opinion the best part of the Bible, but the characters' incredibly long lifespans do seem rather ludicrous.

In the Red Tent, Jacob only pretends to be peeved about the fact that Leah is his first bride; I can objectively see that this is a clever twist, but being a Rachel, I prefer the traditional interpretation, that Jacob was genuinely angry. (No doubt many maidens named Leah will disagree with me!) That's the one single flaw of the novel. Anyway, I'm glad the text says Jacob was fair of face.
Sara (01/18/05)

This book was amazing!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ashes of Fiery Weather
    by Kathleen Donohoe

    "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.