Reader reviews and comments on A Storm of Swords, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Storm of Swords

A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3

by George R R. Martin

A Storm of Swords by George R R. Martin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2000, 800 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 992 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 15 reader reviews for A Storm of Swords
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

JoeRichard (09/23/04)

A Storm of Swords is an example of a fantasy novel that gives the fantasy genre a good name (much like The Lord of the Rings). George R R Martin's writing style is gritty, dark, and realistic; the reader is challenged to say the least. The main charactor body count is at a career high in this volume, and bad charactors unexpectedly show likeable qualities. The dialogue and prose are outstanding, and different plots continue to develope and evolve in interesting and unpredictable ways. Bring on A Feast for Crows!
Daniel (06/20/04)

It takes a lot of guts for a writer to develop great characters over hundreds of pages and then <<edited for potential plot spoiler content>>. Way to go Martin! Lucky for his readers, Martin actually understands that things don't always work out well for the "good" guys, and that "bad" guys have a tendency to behave in consistent manners over time. Martin stays true to his characters and the theme he introduced with his first novel. True, sometimes a reader's desire to see a nefarious act avenged has to wait until a later novel, but for the most part it always comes--and in wonderfully detailed ways. I like this series, especially because Martin isn't afraid to use the word <<edited>>.
Colin Doty (01/31/04)

After reading to page 300 I have given up on this series as a meandering waste of time. This series started with characters of depth and fell into predictable characters. The "evil" guys got worse and the "good" guys started dropping like flies . Poorly developed characters replaced well written ones in a stream of deaths that led nowhere. Martin's Fevre Dream drew me in and I read through looking forward to what was happening. I couldn't care one bit about what happens in this story. This is proof The Internet Top 100 SF/Fantasy List is flawed
David Polk (12/19/03)

Can somebody introduce Mr Martin to an editor?
handwaver (05/29/03)

A truly "epic" fantasy - but all the detail and complexity is worth it! The world Martin has created is fantastic, yet down to earth - an oxymoron that works. I loved the fact that everything doesn't resolve into some ribbon-wrapped package, where our "heroes" (or heroines) emerge unscathed from every perilous situation. People you really come to care about die in these books. Horrible things happen to good people. It seems to mirror real life in a way that, for example, Tolkien's world never did. (I mean, c'mon, against all the evil forces of Sauron, only Boromir dies?)
I can't wait for the 4th book!!
KEVIN (04/12/03)

Absolutely astonishing work of literature. If you read it the seconed time around you will notice all the foreshadowing before the Red Wedding...but the first time it was one hell of a shock! All those who read it will understand what I'm talking about.
Jason (03/02/03)

enjoyed it. they should make a movie out of it. i liked the way he used sword fighting romantasizm in the book.
Teresa (12/18/02)

The only thing holding this book back from being among the best I have ever read is the increasingly foul language. I don't believe it is necessary for such graphic descriptions of the sex acts in the book. Each book has had more and more of this until the third one, which has so much it threatens to overrun the storyline. Other than that I love it.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Leavers
    The Leavers
    by Lisa Ko

    The day before Deming Guo saw his mother for the last time, she surprised him at school. A navy ...

  • Book Jacket: Wonderful Feels Like This
    Wonderful Feels Like This
    by Sara Lovestam
    High school is hard; or perhaps, more accurately, growing up and finding oneself is hard. This is ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Light Yokohama
    Blue Light Yokohama
    by Nicolas Obregon
    Blue Light Yokohama, Nicolás Obregón's crime fiction debut, takes place in an exotic ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book of Summer
    by Michelle Gable

    The bestselling author of The Paris Apartment, Michelle Gable now transports readers to Nantucket.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -