Reader reviews and comments on Merrick, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Merrick

Vampire Chronicles

by Anne Rice

Merrick
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2000, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2001, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for Merrick
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

meagan (09/25/03)

i have been a die-hard fan of anne rice for a long, long time. unfortunately, i was very dissapointed with her latest novel. i feel this book greatly contradicts the previously defined powers of vampires and their even remote possibility of reviving Louis, a weak vampire anyway. it's all great and dandy, isn't it? all happy <<edited for possible plot spoiler content>>. the only truely captivating scene of this book was the communication with bitter Claidia.
keza (07/19/03)

all her books are excellent!
alexandrea (11/27/02)

i thought this book was awsome it had love witchs vampires spirts it has it all. i could not put this book down when i was reading it merrick is now one of my fav vampires now. i loved how louis and merrick got together at the endit was so beutiful.
claudia (06/27/02)

i loved the book but then agian i love all of anne rice's books. Anne Rice is a mastermind in intertwining the occult and christianity in a suductive series within a series. any one who doesnt love this book is insane
merrick (05/30/02)

i thought that this book was excellent, aside from the fact that the main character has the same ame as my own. Merrick is sensaional new character and I can wait to hear more about her in rice's future novels.
Anonymous (12/08/01)

For those who have read both of Rice's Vampire Chronicles and Tales of the Mayfair Witches there are some subtle threads in Merrick that can be appreciated. The book, though an entertaining story seemed to be a required step or prelude to what is to come. The pages are infused with emotion and filgree language as is Rice's custom. The ending is something of a cliffhanger. I personally enjoyed and am excited to read the next book (which I believe is entitled Blood and Gold).

Stephanie
Kansas City, MO
UMKC
Anonymous (11/27/01)

The latest addition to the Vampire Chronicles introduces new magical forces: a spirit world, a shadowy brood of psychics, and humans with the power to rattle eternals. The witch Merrick infuses the book with human emotion, which makes the reader consider whether these vampire characters are sort of human after all.
   Immortality lends vampires nobility and impunity. However, their sanity depends on fellowship with others of their kind: mere bloodsuckers, at least in the first few novels. Anne Rice's Merrick widens their social circle by exploring seductions between supernatural beings, in one or two exotic locations. And so, the reader explores the answer to that age-old question aimed squarely at the forces that flap and wallow at the edge of our sight: quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
   That's Latin, folks. The same as `Talamasca', the former means "who watches the watchmen," while the latter means "animal mask." While the vampires enforce their whims on a sleeping population, humans have banded together to form a secret society with the explicit goal of observation. That is, by assuming noble aspirations and duty. But that's about as far as the moralizing goes, and it's in the subtext. The rest of novel explores the undying themes set up in the first novel, and features appearances from a now catatonic Lestat, and the ever idealistic Louis. The story is seen through the eyes of David, a former underling of the Talamasca. In this world plagued by things unknown to science, the humans have other forces to contend with, and the Talamasca's grasp on their own members seems a little frail. David recalls his earlier infatuation with one from this other camp, a witch heiress to a legacy of voodoo, and practicioner of ritual magic. Naturally, since both characters depend completely on their supernatural powers and the accompanying moral workarounds and pyschic baggage, the meeting of the two throws sparks in numerous directions, as David fondly recalls.
   Working for a secret society is a pretty cushy job, it seems. Throughout more than 350 pages of text, not once is there mention of anything more than cursory paperwork, and much of traipsing off to collect artifacts, and drinking lots of... liquor at this point, though mostly in New Orleans. If you read this at the end of the day, and tend to skim the lushly described conversations, the flipping between various pasts and the present may make your head spin. Though there's plenty of emotional turmoil and anguish, given the difficulty of resolving super-powered serial killers with a realistic setting, the action builds at a leisurely pace. Until the magical powers of Merrick start appearing, and prove fresh enough to stagger the cocky and bored vampires. Of course, Lestat continues to doze, still reeling from the blood of the devil Memnoch.
   Given that the romantic leanings of the book lend to the idea that love will be reunited in death, it's up to the reader to find out if the witch (whose journeys have peeled away most of her family) will overcome the spirits of her past. In particular, about a half of the book centers on the natural feelings between David and Merrick, and the inability of his formerly sixty something body to fulfill it. This changes as soon as there's vampiric blood to go around. Merrick admits to the magical powers of blood, and we are treated to a brief foray into cultural anthropology, as Merrick and D talk about whether ritual has meaning in itself, or people's thoughts give it power.
   After much background of the pair, the fatal human flaw is introduced to this swirling mythological power. That person, of course, is Louis, the vampire equivalent of a bleeding heart. It seems he's having an obsession: he can't stop thinking about that lovely morsel Claudia who was obliterated by the powers of the sun. So... he calls on a witch to raise her ghost.
   If all this mythological name-dropping is making your head spin, fear not! Science does in fact enter into the fray, as a stance used to investigate the comparative powers of the supernatural. Words like `investigation,' `experiment' and `test' begin to crop up, as the characters attempt to get along with each other while figuring out their counterpart's strengths and weaknesses. But most of the text exists in a surreal world, one without much reference to any of the mundane settings the characters find themselves in. except for the bit about trying their best to kill the humans who are drain on their fellows. All in all, a very well done book.

  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Never-Open Desert Diner
    by James Anderson
    James Anderson's debut novel, The Never-Open Desert Diner, starts off as an entertaining ...
  • Book Jacket
    In the Country of Men
    by Hisham Matar
    Labeled by some as the "Libyan Kite Runner", In The Country of Men does share some ...
  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.