Reader reviews and comments on The Brethren, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Brethren

by John Grisham

The Brethren by John Grisham X
The Brethren by John Grisham
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2000, 366 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2000, 366 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 37 reader reviews for The Brethren
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Palesa Mpuru

Funny
It was a very good read indeed, interesting and very realistic as your mind gets glued to the book. Very funny in other episodes of the book and brilliant. The end was somehow less flattering when compared to the whole book itself, but it leaves you laughing even at yourself for being so inquisitive.
silver-o

so far the best
Anonymous

This was a page turner for me. I could not put it down! It was as tantalizing as 'The Testament'. 'The Brethren' is my second favorite Grisham novel (following 'Testament') and I will even read it again someday.
mastermind

book was good, I agree did not give any names, but good reading. If anyone like drama and groups, there is one that is all about the DIXIE MAFIA and familes of STATE LINE MAFIA and their familes you can meet and talk to its in yahoo groups under police and law , they call it littlechicago its all one word. It is most interesting as the book about DIXIE MAFIA was in the book. I think this is their forum try this if anone is interested in joining a group of mafia family reading, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/littlechicago try that and see if that works, GREAT BOOK AND GOOD READING.
Daniel Shishko

Interesting that Grisham based the whole story on a scam that was carried out by some of the worst of the "Dixie Mafia" and yet he never gives their names or connection with the Mob. GREAT READING, and a Brilliant look into how the Criminal mind works while left with HOURS of time and nothing creative to do with it.
Amber-Leigh

This novel was so good that I read it agian. I really enjoyed how he empahzised the legal system. Also I loved how he showed what could happen if any scam gets out of hand.
Phililp "Grishamnfan"

This is an excellent book. I loved it through the very end, loved it, totally :)
Jay-Jay

This book rocked! "The Brethren" was the first John Grisham book I ever read and it got me hooked. I wish they would make this book into a movie instead of "The Runaway Jury" I loved reading about judges in jail. That was the part that got me to read this book. I've read it three times already and I'm reading Grisham's latest "The King Of Torts".

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.