Reader reviews and comments on Summer Sisters, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Summer Sisters

by Judy Blume

Summer Sisters
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 1998, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    May 1999, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 39 reader reviews for Summer Sisters
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jac (01/28/09)

The Eternal Relationship Between the Beauty and the Brains; Timeless Heroines
Summer Sisters- a contemporary fiction about romance, friendship, youthfulness, and all of life's obligations - revolves around two foil characters; Caitlin and Victoria. Caitlin is the epitome of a beautiful and daring girl, who evolves into a bold and intriguing woman. Blonde-haired, outspoken, passionate, and incapable of separating emotion from reason- she is comparable with the luscious and domineering characters of the classics; Madama Ratignolle from The Awakening and Marianne from Sense and Sensibility. Victoria is a reserved, polite and wise woman who resembles Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Predjudice and Elinor from Sense and Sensibility in character. She is capable of governing her actions through reason and careful planning. Overall, this book exemplifies the eternal differences in women and how, although time changes, the mentalities of heroines remain the same. The classics are still evident in even the most modern of fiction novels. Judy Bloom proves that.
Chloe (01/01/09)

Awesome!
I love this book. I am a teenager and I never used to read books before, until last summer of '08. My Aunt gave me this book to read while I was staying there, I read it and loved it! I've read it at least 5 times in the last few months, every time I finish reading it I just want to read it again and again. I love this book, I can't put it down. When I first read it and finished the book it lead me to read other books, but none of them compared to this one. It's just so...addicting. I can't get enough of it. My Aunt gave it to me because she knew I loved it so much.
dblue11 (07/14/07)

summer sisters
I have read that book like 5 or 6 times since I have gotten it,which was like last year! If I could I would give it a 1,000,000 percent for best book in the world!
Yana (02/18/05)

A touching, romantic adventurous story that will have you glued to every page!
Andrea (01/07/05)

This book was as exciting to read as any of the other books i have read.
Nicole (12/28/04)

The book was fascinating. Its a book you can read over and over again. It is hard to put it down once you start reading it.
Kimberly Williams (10/29/04)

Gets better every time you read the book! I have read it twice now...
Jessica (10/02/04)

Summer Sisters really captured my attention and made me feel like "woah..same here" i may only be 15, but when i read the book I never wanted to put it down. Its funny because i read it while at my Best friends cottage. Wehave been best friends since grade 2...I go to her cottage every summer...were just like Victoria and Caitlin. The book captured my attention and its all i could think about...i can read it over and over and never get bored.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.