Reader reviews and comments on Gone For Good, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Gone For Good

by Harlan Coben

Gone For Good
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2002, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2003, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Gone For Good
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

chris (04/22/11)

Great for what it is
This book is a perfect cure for boredom. It is fast, thrilling, easy to read and twists and turns like a snake on a hot plate. Don't complain about tenuous character writing and the copious plot twists, because your missing the point. This book is about sheer entertainment value, not for critics to mull over the different interpretations of his semantics or hidden meanings. Its got love murder, torture, family, fraternity, cops, mafia, comedy and excitement. This book ticks all the boxes it is intended to tick. It's not a fine red wine but a shot of vodka, quick and edgy. Would recommend to anyone seeking a fun read.
Connie (09/20/09)

Gone for Good
Loved it , loved it , loved it.
Its the first of Coben's that I have read. (for a library book discussion group) Lots of twists and turns, good characters, evil characters, great ending. Loved the epilogue. I saw on a few web sites that some readers did not understand the epilogue. I did, and would share with anyone who wanted to discuss. Coben is now on my list of favorite authors and I plan on reading all of his books.
Power Reviewer PDXReader (05/31/09)

Fun, exciting read
This is the second Harlan Coben novel I've read, but it certainly won’t be the last. I'm finding that he is fast becoming one of my favorite "light" authors. This book, in particular, was intriguing and fast-paced with many unexpected plot twists that kept me amply entertained. It kept me reading late into the night. It’s definitely one I’ll recommend to my reading friends as a terrific book to consider when choosing a novel solely for its entertainment value.
Colby (10/19/08)

Gone for Good? What a joke.
This book, for lack of a better word... sucked. The "plot twists" are untimely, unexplainable, nothing makes sense. It reads like the imagination of an 11-year old just making stuff up. Terrible book and I'm pretty sure terrible writer. If you ever see me with another Coben book in my hand there had damn well better be an open fire somewhere close so that I may throw the book into the fire as to destroy it and so that no other person on my account will have wasted six hours of their time reading such a crappy story.
Diana Utu (10/08/04)

This book has so many twists that your head doesn't know where to turn! Its so incredible. It gave so much descriptive details, that it felt like you were part of the story!
Chris (12/30/03)

I truly enjoyed this book, by one of my favorite authors, because when you think you understand Mr. Coben puts in a twist that not even the most intellectual reader could have guessed. The quality that I most enjoyed about the book was the extreme depth of each and every character especially the "villan." No one can dwell into the complexity of human beings as well as Harlan Coben.
Harriet (08/19/03)

This book was an excellent choice for our book club. It was suspenseful, exciting, and brought you into the book as if you were watching a movie! Great writing and will leave us chatting for hours!
robert (05/05/03)

This book keeps you glued to the pages until the very last word. Another great book by a great writer who only gets better with each book.
  • Page
  • 1

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.