Reader reviews and comments on The Lake of Dead Languages, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lake of Dead Languages

by Carol Goodman

The Lake of Dead Languages by Carol Goodman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2002, 390 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2003, 413 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 17 reader reviews for The Lake of Dead Languages
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

New York Times (03/14/10)

A Slice Of Wonder
This book was fantastically gripping and suspenseful, with a manner much like Donna Tartt's "Secret History". This book, however, is still truly unique, and it is a puzzlement how it is not more then the next Twilight, it should be the next Harry Potter.
Daria Summers (09/04/07)

Enticing, Captivating
Though some of the plots are a bit extreme, the editing of each scene can be realistic enough. Not to mention that every page leaves you curious, wondering, and sometimes a little bewildered with the "goings-on" as the story reveals it's twists and turns dramatically, solving the pieces of the puzzle, building into it's climatic ending. Thrilling enough with mentions of gothic literature, too.
Oroboros (08/17/07)

good premis, clumsy execution
I did enjoy reading this book. I liked the metaphor of the lake water sinking then freezing, but as with Carol Goodman's other books (Mainly the Seduction of Water), I felt that she doesn't give her reader enough credit. She no sooner hints at a twist than tells you outright exactly what the secret was. You don't ever get to enjoy the satisfaction of catching a clever allusion, metaphor, or secret because she slams it in your face.
She is clever and makes good metaphors and interesting twists, but divulges them to bluntly.
I also don't like her female main characters. It seems that she's trying to make them realistic, but to me they just end up seeming stupid and too dependent on men. I know some people like reading about realistically flawed people and really relate to them, but I would much rather read about someone I can aspire to be like.
liz (10/18/06)

Trash with glimmers of hope
The book left me confused. Ususally I will like a book or dislike a book after reading it. I think it swerved from harlequine romance to decent thriller as often as every other paragraph. It became overwrought at the end and the brutality of the last murder was over the top. Still, it had it's moments. I guess if you are looking for an simple page turner that has a subtle smoothness every now again and you are willing to forgive the Victorian vapors then it's an ok read.
Angela (02/18/05)

I loved everything about htis book. It is just the perfect mix of thriller, mystery, and suspence. It keeps you hooked until the very last word.
Nicole (02/14/05)

This book was amazing! i couldn't put it down, i read it in two days. From the first page to last you just can't wait to see what happens next. The intracate plot twists and glimpses into Jane Hundsons tradgic past at Heart Lake will keep you hooked. I am 15 years old and I would recomend this book (and anything else written by Carol Goodman) to anyone who loves a griping mysteery.
***** (01/17/05)

It is an amazing book and i recommend it to anyone.
****** (11/12/04)

This book is amazing. I LOVE it no matter what the critics say. My friend gave it to me to read and I passed it on, because it was fabulous! You have to keep reading to find out what happens next-no matter how late it is!!
The way Latin is used as a common thread between all of the characters is wonderful. It is made all the more wonderful be Goodman's beautiful, poetic writing.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Leavers
    The Leavers
    by Lisa Ko

    The day before Deming Guo saw his mother for the last time, she surprised him at school. A navy ...

  • Book Jacket: Wonderful Feels Like This
    Wonderful Feels Like This
    by Sara Lovestam
    High school is hard; or perhaps, more accurately, growing up and finding oneself is hard. This is ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Light Yokohama
    Blue Light Yokohama
    by Nicolas Obregon
    Blue Light Yokohama, Nicolás Obregón's crime fiction debut, takes place in an exotic ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book of Summer
    by Michelle Gable

    The bestselling author of The Paris Apartment, Michelle Gable now transports readers to Nantucket.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -