Read what people think about A Paris Apartment by Michelle Gable, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

A Paris Apartment

by Michelle Gable

A Paris Apartment
  • Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2014
    304 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 22 reader reviews for A Paris Apartment
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Barbara K. (Brooklyn, NY) (03/15/14)

A Mystery in Paris
I never thought that I would enjoy reading a novel about furniture but A Paris Apartment by Michelle Gable has proven me wrong.It is also the story of two women. April Vogt is a New York furniture appraiser sent to Paris to evaluate the contents in an apartment once owned by Marthe de Florian who abandoned it and its possessions in 1940, never to return.
The mystery of who Marthe de Florian was and why this apartment has been vacant for 70 years kept me intrigued but the story unfolds as April begins to read Marthe's diaries.
This unusual tale was well written, kept me guessing and was infused with the atmosphere of Paris, both past and present. I recommend it.
Joselle K. (Saratoga, CA) (03/14/14)

Boring and trite
Not much more to add to that....I am always interested in reading about Paris and the story sounded promising. However, the writing here is amateurish and actually distracts from the story. It was really difficult to keep reading. Blech!
Randi H. (Bronx, NY) (03/13/14)

A Paris Apartment
Wow -- what I book! I literally could not put it down. Reading A Paris Apartment, I became immersed in the lives of two women in France - April Vogt in the present, and Marthe de Florian living in the Belle Epoque. April's job is to inventory the furnishings and assorted memorabilia found in Marthe's apartment, which had not been seen in 70 years. April finds Marthe's journals, and becomes rather obsessed with Marthe's life.
The setting is great for anyone who enjoys Paris, and the apartment at the center of the story was apparently real. The heart of the story revolves around the two women, both of whom are trying to find their way in the lives and their loves.
Highly recommended!
Joan W. (Orion, MI) (03/12/14)

Paris!
I love these kinds of stories – two stories in one – one present day and the other past. April is a furniture expert who goes to Paris to review and set up an auction of very old furniture in an apartment closed up for 70 years. In the process she finds the diaries/journals of the previous owner. She knows these journals will help in the auction - in the present day her marriage is on a teeter totter, not sure whether it is up or down, possible divorce. It is a little intertwining but the story is a good one. She has some issues as well that she hadn't shared and has been held inside for too long. All in all, it makes me want to go to Paris and to find new love and friendships. Very good story. I would definitely recommend it. As I said earlier, this is my kind of story – and that is what it is, a good story without all the language and such that are in others.
Laurie F. (Brookline, MA) (03/12/14)

Interesting topic. Not such an interesting read
Paris, the world of antiques, discovery, self assessment - it all sounds like the basis of a good novel. Unfortunately, the writing is more like a mass-market paperback rather than the quality of good fiction. I found the story line a bit cliché. Just was not my cup of tea.
Jan C. (San Antonio, TX) (03/10/14)

Paris works its magic!
Could not put this book down! Two stories at once! What a bargain! April is the "furniture" expert for an auction company. As she discovers treasures in the apartment which has been shuttered for 70 years, she also discovers journals of the woman who owned the apartment. The journalist comes alive for April, giving her a passion for the just how the treasures should be auctioned. As her stay in Paris progresses she comes to terms with her own marriage and life in New York and discovers a new kind of relationship with the handsome Parisian solicitor. Thoroughly enjoyed the author's knowledge of the auction world, antiques and the Belle Epoque era. A great read.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.