Read what people think about The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh, and write your own review.

Summary | Discuss | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Weight of Blood

by Laura McHugh

The Weight of Blood
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2014
    320 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 6 reader reviews for The Weight of Blood
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

susan (04/11/14)

strong plot and voice(s)
Riveted and suspenseful until I got through 2/3 of the book. while the book is primarily about Lucy and a parallel, haunting history of her mother Lila, the relationship unfolds in the context of the mystery surrounding the death of her friend Cheri. The storytelling has not yet convinced me that Lucy and Cheri were friends, hopefully this will be resolved by the book's end. Too many abruptly introduced red herrings as to the whodunit of Cheri's murderer.
SMD (03/05/14)

The Weight of Blood
I was excited to receive an advanced copy of the book because the blurbs were so exciting and encouraging however I was ultimately disappointed. It starts off strong and captivating - loved the alternating points of view told independently by mother and daughter 17 years apart - by laying the groundwork for the story, then builds the suspense as it picks up steam by dropping hints of the darkness yet to come. The best and strongest part of the book is the middle as the tension increases and your imagination starts thinking 'could it be this?' Then 'oh no, it couldn't be that......could it?'. Then, after hundreds of pages of leisurely telling the alternating perspectives, comes the entirely rushed, jarringly brief and unsatisfying conclusion. For me, a book is only great (and recommended) if the conclusion rings true. Unfortunately that isn't the case here.
Power Reviewer Nikki (02/28/14)

Debut author? No way!
This page-turning story set in the Ozarks reads like a seasoned author wrote it. I can't wait until discussion on this one opens up. Lots to talk about! Great read!
Power Reviewer BeckyH (02/25/14)

THE WEIGHT OF BLOOD by Laura McHugh
THE WEIGHT OF BLOOD concerns what happens when family loyalty blinds one member to the oddities, questions and inconsistencies of another member; when love for a brother leads one to cover up misdeeds in the name of family and to continue for years never admitting the half truths that abound.
This thriller by Laura McHugh starts out mildly unsettling and ratchets up as the pages turn. Carl and Clete are brothers who both fall for the same girl, Lila, an orphan who comes to the Ozarks for work and finds love. After marrying Carl, Lila has a daughter Lucy, who is loved by both her father and her uncle. In short order a town girl disappears and her body is found dismembered and stuffed in a tree. Lila, considered an outsider and perhaps a witch, disappears soon after. The story continues 16 years later with Lila’s daughter and increasing tension between the brothers and in the town.
McHugh does a good job with tension and atmosphere, characterization and ordinariness as the story deepens into horror. Some readers may be disturbed by the subtext of white slavery. Book groups will discuss family secrets, loyalty, the pull of neighborliness, mental handicaps, privacy and small town morals topics for discussion.
4 of 5 stars
Mel (02/14/14)

A Study of the Ozarks
Laura McHugh paints a realistic view of the Ozarks, from the perspective of a young woman, of some privilege who has grown up in a particularly unwelcoming, scary town, but who is protected from its cruelties due to her family's stance. The young woman loves the beauty of the Ozarks. She loves its woods, caves, rivers, and many of its people. Ultimately, however she can no longer hide from its darkest side. After she discovers town secrets that are very close to her home and heart, she has to make choices - choices of loyalty and to whom does her loyalty lay with - and choices of where she will live out her future.
John Williamson (02/12/14)

There Are No Secrets in Small Towns
The Weight of Blood is a fitting title for this book that becomes more apparent as the story evolves. The book is written with each chapter sharing the viewpoint and situations from the perspective of a different character in the book. The author rises to the challenge of this narrative approach, fully develops each character, and successfully limits the number of characters so the reader doesn’t get confused.

It starts off with Lucy trying to solve the mystery of a friend’s disappearance while in the background attempting to come to terms with the disappearance of her own mother, Lila. The book then shifts back in time and is told from Lila, Lucy’s mother that has led a very difficult life before she arrived in the little town of Henbane, Missouri. The second half of the book is told through the eyes of the other major characters and each shares another piece of the puzzle.

The Weight of Blood is an excellent debut novel, with a well-crafted plot, realistic dialogue, strong character development and a conclusion that is not easily foreseen by the reader.
  • Page
  • 1

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.