Read what people think about Safe with Me by Amy Hatvany, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Safe with Me

by Amy Hatvany

Safe with Me
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2014
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 2 of 9
There are currently 67 reader reviews for Safe with Me
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Christine D. (Closter, NJ) (12/04/13)

Heartbreaking and Life-Affirming
Amy Hatvany's Safe With Me reels you in from the very first page. The characters and their actions are so real, you can't help but feel for them. The story is both heartbreaking and life-affirming. It makes you feel thankful for all you have, and for simply being alive. It makes you think about what you would do in the different characters' situations, and hope you would have the courage to do the right thing. Unfortunately, especially in the case of Hannah's and Olivia's situations, Amy Hatvany described it brilliantly when she had Olivia note that life is full of shades of gray, and it's not so simple for one to say 'yes, I would do that' and have that be true. Which is what makes the story work so well, how true it is to life, the way it exemplifies all the different options you have in a given situation, the way events can pile up all at once, and how grief can take hold of you that you pull back from the world and the ones you love.
Diane W. (Lake Villa, IL) (12/03/13)

Safe With Me Review
I really enjoyed the author's writing style in this book...and the premise of organ donation and it's myriad of issues is something I hadn't experienced before. The characters, for the most part, were believable and likable, though I'm always confused and somewhat annoyed by the idea of women with options available remaining in abusive relationships --- though I know there are reasons for such. Insights into the profound feelings of mothers and the choices women make in their life journeys is always of interest. Still not sure if I liked the ending or not....still processing what could have been other options. I'm interested in reading more by this author.
KJD (12/03/13)

Safe with Me very touching
I was reading this book as my father was very ill so at first it was hard to read. Also, I have an only daughter and so I cried at the beginning - won't say more than that. I enjoyed the book after I got into it. I felt the author kept the story interesting and developed the characters well.
Amy W. (Annapolis, MD) (12/03/13)

Engrossing quick read
I really enjoyed this book. The book started off a bit slow and sad, which is to be expected given the subject matter. But once Olivia and Hannah meet the story really takes off and I found it really hard to put down. The voices of each character were distinct and believable, so the different narration of each chapter worked to bring the story together. I would recommend this book.
Diana J. (Highland Falls, NY) (12/02/13)

More of a surprise
When you read the back of the book, you assume this is a sunshine and roses type book. It's not...it's more about how the donor's family and the recipient's family both cope with the event. They do intersect at one point, and it becomes a focus of the book.
However, it's not the only focus. There's spousal abuse, etc, among the other themes.
I don't want to give too much away, but it was a good, fast read, without being too maudlin.
Kathleen S. (Oshkosh, WI) (12/01/13)

Safe With Me a safe bet for a good read!
I was captured by Amy Hatvany's story right from the start, and devoured her book quickly. The author did an excellent job of making me empathize with each of the three main characters - her style is very reminiscent of Jodi Picoult's, but there weren't the plot twists that I associate with Picoult. I think this would be an excellent book for a book club to read and discuss. My only complaint is that I would have liked the author to continue the story a bit further than she did. Overall though, I highly recommend Safe With Me.
Laura G. (Buffalo, NY) (12/01/13)

So much to think about
I loved the book "Safe with Me" by Amy Hatvany. It was hard to put down. You see, even having known a few people who have been organ recipients, it never occurred to me the feelings both donor families and recipient families experience. The book was a well written, learning experience. I highly recommend it. I think my only problem with the book is that I didn't understand the meaning of the title.
Jessica D. (Bemidji, MN) (11/30/13)

Safe With Me
Even though the subject matter dealt with two very difficult issues, I thoroughly enjoyed the story although, for me, the ending seemed a little flat after the big buildup to it. It almost seemed like it ended too soon. I did like Amy Hatvany's writing style and will be reading her other books.

More Information

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.