Read what people think about Doing Harm by Kelly Parsons, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Doing Harm

by Kelly Parsons

Doing Harm
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2014
    368 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 4 of 5
There are currently 38 reader reviews for Doing Harm
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jan T. (Leona Valley, CA) (11/03/13)

Doing Harm
Excellent medical thriller. It was gripping - a true page turner. It takes you to the world of hospitals and into the operating room. There are life and death decisions some being made by a possible sociopath. It involves a young surgeon whose patients are dying but why? I highly recommend this book and urge you to watch this young author. Kelly Parsons is going to be a star.
Kim L. (Cary, IL) (11/01/13)

More
I could not put this book down. It was well written and the author wrote a captivating story. I have been a nurse for over 25 years and in my opinion the author portrayed a mostly accurate view of hospital life. The story was fast paced, and held my attention. I hope the author writes more books.
Erica M. (Chicago, IL) (11/01/13)

Not what I expected
The opening sentence and first third of the book led me to believe that I was reading a very different book than what it turned out to be. I found the book to be engaging, the writing good, the story compelling. As opposed to many thrillers I have read, this one did not overuse contrivances to set up the plot. The technical medical language that was used helped to set up the story, rather than to bog it down. I would give it a 4.5 if such grading was available. I thought the ending was a little too convenient and instead of telling me how it would play out, I would have liked to have had the epilogue provide more detail.
Kimberly H. (Stamford, CT) (10/31/13)

Doing Harm
A quick easy read. The author is a doctor so his descriptions ring true to his profession. I found the GG character a bit implausible but overall a good 'beach' book for those who like thrillers.
Catharine L. (Petoskey, MI) (10/30/13)

Couldn't sleep. Had to finish it.
I enjoyed this medical thriller. It was very suspenseful, and I confess, I jumped ahead to the ending - so I could sleep at night. The medical information was written so the average person could understand the situations, and the reader realizes that there are mistakes and doctors aren't perfect but for the most part, doing their best. My only criticism was GG - somewhat unbelievable, larger than life - attractive, confident, super intelligent, and a black belt in tae kwon do. The ending was somewhat Hollywood with everything working out, but it is definitely a fun read.
Darcy C. (San Diego, CA) (10/30/13)

Exciting Book!
I found myself racing through the pages of this book. Dr. GG truly is an evil - and brilliant - psychopath. The protagonist doctor had an appalling dilemma on his hands – morally and medically. The story led you realistically through his plans and how he carried out his high-tech tactics to try to foil the psycho-doctor. I thought about the book when I wasn't reading it! I hope this author has great success with his future books because I will certainly be reading them! A "smart" and foreboding book; not only did I learn from this tale, I was thoroughly entertained You will tear through these pages -- Enjoy. Oh, yea... one more thing.... make sure you REALLY check out your physician's credentials in your real life. Even then..... it might not be enough to protect you....
Catherine M. (Mankato, MN) (10/30/13)

Doing Harm
I may be a poor judge of Kelly Parson's new novel "Doing Harm" since I am not a routine reader of mysteries/thrillers. Overall I thought the story was entertaining and, because the author is a medical doctor who works in a similar environment, his descriptions of a university hospital's protocols and politics were credible. What I found less plausible was Dr. Gigi (G.G.) Maxwell. Her actions, and her motives for those actions, were unconvincing, even with her (undiagnosed) psychopathology. I also thought that no person—in this case, Dr. Steve Maxwell—with remarkable technological knowledge and skills would ever share a highly confidential username and password with anyone, for any reason. I certainly would not.
Sharon B. (Rome, GA) (10/29/13)

Medical Thriller
Life is great and the future is assured for senior surgical resident Steve Mitchell until inexplicable mistakes start happening causing serious complications for his patients. An investigation reveals foul play and, with his career on the line, Dr. Mitchell must figure out who is sabotaging treatment and what patient will be chosen next. The suspense in this book kept me reading even when I had to skim through much of the clinical detail (the author is a surgeon). The main characters were not very likable and I felt that Dr. Mitchell pretty much deserved whatever happened to him. I would recommend the book for a quick and easy read.

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.