Read what people think about Doing Harm by Kelly Parsons, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Doing Harm

by Kelly Parsons

Doing Harm
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2014
    368 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 2 of 5
There are currently 38 reader reviews for Doing Harm
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Donna M. (Ashland, OR) (11/19/13)

Doing Harm by Kelly Parsons
The book is an easy, engaging read. I found the medical aspects interesting and would think that it would speak to anyone in the medical field. I was expecting more around ethical dilemmas and would have liked to see a stronger case for why the murderer was so strident about safety. The politics and complexities of the medical arena rang true. The lingering question that I continued to consider was who truly did the right thing and was guided by a strong moral code? Not necessarily the main character.
I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy mysteries and those with an interest in medical issues.
Eileen L. (Osprey, FL) (11/19/13)

Great medical thriller read
Once again a genuine medical doctor writes a thriller about something he knows from the inside -- hospital politics and patient care. Engaging writer. Good successor to Michael Palmer.
Kathleen W. (Appleton, WI) (11/17/13)

Doing Harm
This was a difficult review for me to write because I wanted to like the book more than I do. The premise of "what would you do in this situation?" intrigues me and as a medical thriller, the book is successful. I found myself reading late into the night engrossed in the story. Usually this is sufficient for me to consider a book above average and worth recommending. The problem arises, however, in that the main characters aren't believable, the minor characters are caricatures, and the dialogue is often awkward or stilted. Other than plot, the book doesn't have much to offer.
WDH (New Port Richey, FL) (11/16/13)

Average Thriller
Doing Harm is a quick read, mostly from a typical thriller perspective. The storyline is a little predictable, but entertaining. The medical and technical information is presented very well but the characters just didn't really grab/keep my attention - could not quite connect with their motives. Overall, it was good for a first novel though. I'll watch for other books by this author.
Cheryl W. (Crosby, MN) (11/14/13)

Unbelievable
This book was an easy read and the story moved right along. The whole mystery was so unbelievable. How a doctor who has so much known technology cannot figure out how it was done. Also that no review board would back him. The story was also very predictable. I did like that the murderer was revealed early and the rest of the book was how to catch the murderer.
Julie M. (Minnetonka, MN) (11/12/13)

Junk Food Suspense
This novel is not great literature, but sometimes you just want a quick, fun, wild ride through a novel. Doing Harm does a pretty good job of providing it. It will grab you and not let you go until the end. I thought the part where his wife shows up at the end was a little far fetched, but overall an interesting read. Great book to take to the beach.
Power Reviewer Gary R. (Bolingbrook, IL) (11/12/13)

Game on
I wasn't sure, starting this book, what I was in for. A debut novelist writing a medical thriller who just happens to be a doctor! Not being a great fan of medical thrillers I must say this book is a really good read. A series of accidents seem to point to the incompetence of chief resident Steve Mitchell,rising surgeon and supervisor of a group of med students,but is it really his fault? With all signs pointing to Steve, he sets out to prove his innocence. Even though you find out who's really responsible halfway through the book the game is on! Great read that sucks you in and is hard to put down. Recommended! Why only four stars? A few medical terms I had to stop reading and look up disrupted the flow, but still well worth it!
Aleksandra E. (Alpharetta, GA) (11/11/13)

Interesting premise
I found the subject matter in this novel to be very intriguing yet for some reason I was not as "hooked" as I should be in a suspense novel. Revealing the antagonist half way through a book is an interesting approach but ultimately it lacked a "shocking" element to it. Nonetheless, it was an entertaining and light novel that would be perfect as a beach read.

More Information

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.