Read what people think about Once We Were Brothers by Ronald H. Balson, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Once We Were Brothers

by Ronald H. Balson

Once We Were Brothers by Ronald H. Balson X
Once We Were Brothers by Ronald H. Balson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Oct 2013
    400 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Once We Were Brothers
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kathy (10/18/13)

Great historical fiction
What an exciting, heart-wrenching book! I have read many books about the Holocaust and enjoyed the perspective of this story that begins with the lives of Jews in Poland before the Nazi invasion. This was a well written book containing lots of interesting history. I would recommend this to anyone that is interested in this period of time and who enjoys a legal thriller.
Judy G (09/21/13)

Very disappointed
Polish immigrants do not speak English as if they went to graduate school. The device the author uses to fill out the novel by having Ben drag out his story is ridiculous, as is a lawyer giving up her career to take his case. Of course the story of Polish Jews during the Holocaust is heart breaking but bad writing spoiled the book for me.
Barbara (Cherry Hill, NJ) (09/10/13)

Once We Were Brothers
The self published version of the book was recommended to me earlier this year, and I didn't really want to read another Holocaust book. Once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. The opening premise of a Nazi possibly hiding in America as a Jew was a new twist. In addition to the historical fiction, the legal and romantic aspects kept my interest.
The current day dialogue is a little choppy, but the WWII sections about Poland are written in a precise and deliberate manner, and this historical background was enlightening.

I would rank this in my top 5 Holocaust book picks for those written in the past decade. I would not hesitate to recommend this book to bookclubs.
Janice (09/06/13)

Once We Were Brothers
I made my comment halfway through the book. I have finished it and if I could give it higher than a 5, I would. It's been a long time since I've read a book that brought out so much emotion in me. Love, hate, compassion, grief, shock. I did not want this book to end, but I loved the ending. Looking forward to this author's next book. Thank you for a wonderful read.
Janice C. (Hayward, CA) (09/01/13)

Once We Were Brothers
This book is so well written. Such a beautiful story of love and caring during such a horrendous tragedy. I love the characters. What a great book club discussion it would make. It should be required reading for High School students.
Leah L. (Lawrence, NY) (08/26/13)

Truth vs. Evil
Articulate, intelligent, tenacious, loving and lovable, Holocaust survivor Ben accuses Elliot Rosenzweig, a well known Chicagoan leader, of being a former Nazi officer. According to Ben, his family in Poland gave Elliot, then known as Otto, a home. The Solomons raised, fed and education Otto who morphed into a perpetrator of evil, killing many Jews who crossed his path. The wealthy Elliot launches an offensive, denying the accusations. Ben chooses a young but troubled female attorney who, impressed with Ben's principles and values, values her heart, professionally and personally. Once We Were Brothers is an enjoyable, quick-read book that is chock full of factual history about one of the bleakest periods known to mankind. Although predictable, the end is nonetheless heartwarming and uplifting.
Barbara P. (Hixson, TN) (08/25/13)

Once We Were Brothers
As a lover of historical fiction, I found this novel to be excellent. This debut author did a really good job of developing his characters. I felt I knew the main characters; Ben, Catherine and Liam as if they were friends or colleagues. The story had me fully absorbed and I had trouble putting the book down once I started it. I would highly recommend this book.
Eileen L. (Danvers, MA) (08/24/13)

Eloquent and authenic account of the Polish experience
I love this book! It is one of those rare books that you hate to put down and think about until you can pick it up again. It is a riveting account of the Nazi occupation of Poland, the horrors that defined that time, and the incredible spirit of survivors. Ben Soloman is at once tragic and triumphant and the retelling of his story is nothing short of mesmerizing. While some of the peripheral charactars and relationships are a bit shallow, the book is about Ben's journey, and that is so superbly written that it overshadows any shortcomings the book has. A truly wonderful read!

More Information

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.