Read what people think about To the Moon and Timbuktu by Nina Sovich, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

To the Moon and Timbuktu

A Trek through the Heart of Africa

by Nina Sovich

To the Moon and Timbuktu

Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 22 reader reviews for To the Moon and Timbuktu
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Pam L. (Melbourne Beach, FL) (06/14/13)

A Warrior
To the Moon and Timbuktu was a perfect read for me. I loved Nina Sovich's brutal honesty and her passion to follow in the footsteps of Mary Kingsley. Her travels through the heart of Africa were spell binding and Sovich's writing was absolutely beautiful at times. Her experiences were at once romantic, and then so uncomfortable you couldn't help but ask why she did it. Sovich's combination of history, culture, politics and personal reflections carried this memoir off beautifully. The stories of the people of Western Africa made for great reading, especially those of the women.
Angela S. (Hartland, MI) (06/14/13)

Honest.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading To the Moon and Timbuktu by Nina Sovich. Reading about foreign cultures is always a great learning experience and this book did not disappoint. I was fascinated by the lives of the Africans that the author met and also by the modes of transportation used to navigate through towns and cities throughout the continent. It made the story much richer because she refused to take the easy way. She meets dangerous people, happy people, angry people, and she finds compassion and kinship with many of the women (and men) she comes into contact with. The honesty in which the author tells her story is truly refreshing and I found myself relating to some of her inner conflicts. This book is about a quest to get to Timbuktu, but also the quest within the author to find herself and her happy place in the society she lived. A truly relatable book for anybody who wishes for more than what they see out their windows every day.
John W. (Saint Louis, MO) (06/12/13)

Story of A Journey: People, Places & Self-Discovery
To the Moon and Timbuktu is the story of a journey -- three in reality: people, places and self-discovery. I have traveled to various parts of eastern and western Africa and her descriptions of people and places made me feel as though I was back. She brought her characters to life and you feel as though you know them personally – the trademark of a great story-teller!

As I indicate it's also a book about self-discovery. Throughout the book, you learn more about two other famous women that traveled Africa, Mary Kingsley – an explorer in the 1800's and Isak Dineson – the author of "Out of Africa". The author feels connected to both women as well as the women she meets in African villages. Despite time and cultural differences she discovers women everywhere share common bonds.
Power Reviewer Judy G. (Carmel, IN) (06/09/13)

Wanderlust in all of us
I really enjoyed this book and recommend it. The description of Nina's personal journey was well crafted and described. While I had hoped for a story of the people and animals of Africa, instead I learned more about what it's like for people who continually yearn for excitement and adventure. The author described an often torturous journey, both physical and psychological.

We all have some degree of wanderlust but some of us experience the need to travel as a driving force in our lives that never goes away. I don't share that drive and feel the author did a great job of describing what that's like for others and how it can temper even the strongest romantic relationships. This book is a great example of how we can experience the lives of others through reading. I recommend it for book clubs as members could each speak to their own degree of wanderlust and how that need gets met.
Laurie F. (Brookline, MA) (06/06/13)

The Story of Nina Sovich
This could have been a good book. If the author had focused more on the places she went and the people she met rather than herself. I have traveled Africa quite extensively and it is a beautiful continent with very interesting people. It was tiring to keep seeing the word "I". She seemed discontent and sometimes miserable - never truly amazed with the experience or the adventure.
Judith G. (Ewa Beach, HI) (06/06/13)

Naive woman or careless?
I did enjoy this book because I like to read about travel and women traveling. I found her reasons for traveling valid but, perhaps, selfish. Timbuktu has been a talisman for many and continues to intrigue those who are curious and avid travelers. Good book. Not great because I found the author (non-fiction) ingenuous in many instances.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.